Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
This recipe is easy to follow and produces excellent result. The kitchen is filled with pleasant aroma when you are cooking it, the left over is delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe! It tasted like it came directly out of an authentic German restaurant. I used cider vinegar and reduced quantity to about 2/3 cup since my husband is not a fan of vinegar. He wasn't planning on eating it, but actually admitted he liked it! It is such a nice variation to your typical green beans, corn, peas, etc. & fairly healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I made this recipe for guests on St. Patrick's Day, and I had to print the recipe for the ladies. The cabbage and apple sweet & sour recipe was a big hit! Oh, I added baby carrots cut in half and diced portabella mushrooms to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The best and one of the easiest to make, also very low in sodium. My wife loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe, just like the Rohtkole you find in the best German restaurants. Add a bay leaf or two for really authentic german flavor. Froze well in my foodsaver and reheated better than the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful! But... I prefer to add the apples after the cabbage is cooked. Otherwise the apples cook down and become pasty. The spices are perfect!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe is just what I was looking for! I absolutely fell in love with this side dish, while staying in Maastricht (southern Netherlands) Thanks so much for the post...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! Our dinner guests talked about it all the way home - along with the German Rouladen and Spaetzle also from this site my hubby and I made it with. I did use apple cider vinegar and 1/2 cup less according to the reviews, I also neglected to peel the apples but they were chopped up so fine you couldn't even tell. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was delicious, but I left out the cloves since I don't like them. It was great the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This recipe is very similar to one that an older Dutch women used to make me when I was a kid. A little bit more tart but I guess it would depend on the size of cabbage. I would put a little more sugar and a little less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States