Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
much too sour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
We made this for an Oktoberfest party and it was pretty good. It was a good combination of sweet and sour. May make this again if the occassion calls for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
excellent - replace water w/ apple juice then at end thicken broth w/ cornstarch. I had no apples so served it w/ a dollop of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Looking for a dish to bring to an Oktoberfest, I found this recipe and decided to try it because of all the positive reviews. I adapted it by using apple cider vinegar (and half the amount), adding 1 cup of brown sugar instead of what the recipe called for, adding an extra apple (I used 1 Gala, 3 small Granny Smiths), using pumpkin pie spice instead of allspice (might be the same thing?) and using more of all the spices than listed...and added a dash of salt. The cabbage I used was about 6in. in diameter and the yield was quite a bit. Anyway, people loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is a great. BIG NOTE: If you make too much,it freezes REALLY WELL. I found some that I froze a year ago (!!!) in tupperware, defrosted, heated & served w/Apricot-Glazed Pork Chops... perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Just great! If you've never had it make it. Cut the vinegar in half and used balsamic vinegar instead. Put it in a crock pot on high for four hours. So good (great with the Sauerbraten).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was great! Used only two apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. THE BEST! I followed Carolynn's suggestions because I too was going to can the cabbage. I used cider vinegar instead of white. I tripled the recipe as I had 3 cabbage heads. I only used 5 apples. This is the genuine, authentic taste that has not been "sugared" down for American palates! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was wonderful and so easy to prepare! I served it with a cucumber salad and creamed beer brats over spaetzle noodles. It made a perfect german dinner. Don't forget that german beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UpdeGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was good, but next time I'll cut the recipe in half at least. The taste is strong and unusual - it's not something for leftovers. My kids didn't like it. I used an older food processer to shred the cabbage. It would be better shredded very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States