Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
OH yummm.... we love this. I could eat it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Great! My husband and I are huge cabbage fans and since coming back from Germany, I've been looking for a traditional rotkohl recipe. This is it! I modified it slightly (I don't believe in rating recipes that I've changed, so no worries here), just enhancing the flavor of the cabbage by using about 1/4 c. apple juice and 1/2 cup water instead of all water, and crumbling a few slices of bacon into the finished product. Since I'm on a dairy-free diet, I left out the butter at the end and added a dash of olive oil for some creaminess. My husband ate half the pot all by himself in one sitting and the left overs were gone in a day. Served with brats and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
terrable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My German husband says this recipe is the best cooked red cabbage he's ever had, which means a lot! It freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Good, and sweet like harvard beets. Kids didn't care for this, but I thought it was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe if you particularly like red cabbage. I used MacIntosh apples which get soft but don't disappear. Be careful not to overcook it or it can get mushy. That's its only negative (if that is a negative) but when done right it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I had this dish in Berlin 4 years ago. I never knew what was in it until now. This turned out exactly like the original. Fantastic! (I made it just like the instructions said)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASWELMO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh I just love red cabbage..so much better than the stuff from the jar! This is a great recipe..I just tweaked it a tiny bit. Used 2 apples and added a diced onion which I sauteed in butter first, then added everything else. Instead of white vinegar I used apple cider vinegar just because I love the flavor of it so much more than white. I also added a bay leaf and some caraway seeds and cooked it all for an hour and a half. It was surprising not to see any salt or pepper listed as part of the recipe..definitely needs both. But overall a wonderful comfort food side dish that went really well with pork tenderloin and roasted acorn squash. Thanks for sharing..will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
A big hit with my family and particularly with my husband who is of German heritage. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
A rainy day altered our menu yesterday and instead of using my red cabbage for a slaw I decided to make this. It was a huge hit with my elderly dutch parents. They filled their plates with it and asked to take the leftovers home. I made it with 1/2 the vinegar as others suggested. And I made it in the crockpot, so it was super easy. I'm going to make a big double batch of it to freeze for my folks soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States