Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Too much vinegar for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Holy cow - this has turned into my new favorite side dish! And I pick red cabbage out of my mixed salads because I don't like it. This is a perfect side dish - tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious and so easy to make. I usually throw an extra apple in because we like apples. If there ever is any leftovers it is not much and by the end of the night someone will polish it off as a snack as they watch tv. I always wanted to see how the flavor would improve in a day or two but we never get past day one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great basic recipe! I did half white vinegar and half apple cider vinegar. I used two apples and half a small red onion. I added extra brown sugar ad left out most of the dry spices. Keep it simple and add later to taste. My boyfriend always loved the Kuhne brand out of a jar but I think he will enjoy this fresh version much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A favorite of my husband's! I make it along with the spaetzle/sauerkraut/kielbasa casserole for a German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
My mom and I had something like this years back at a German restaurant. When I saw the recipe while searching for low sodium options, it reminded me of it. Only thing I added differently, was about a cup or so of apple juice near the end to sweeten it up a little more. Otherwise, it does have a vinegary taste. The next day, it was even better!! It's even tasty cold! I think it would be great on hot dogs or hamburgers in place of relish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very good recipe. I cut down on the amount of vinegar to about 3/4 cup and I used red wine vinegar. Also I on,y used 2 apples. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Easy to make and tasty. Would be great with sausage. Used apple cider vinegar instead of white vingegar, and used half the amount. Added a bit of salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great recipe, but I did do some tweaking after reading reviews. I used 1 1/4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, only I omitted the butter, only two tablespoons of brown sugar, and two Fuji apples. I was looking for a recipe similar to my Mother-in-Law's red cabbage, and this came darn close! With my changes the recipe was still sweet, but had a nice tartness to it. I would have made the recipe as written, but I made the changes so it was more diet friendly. I'll definitely be making this again! Next time I might try it in the crockpot to save time in the kitchen after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I liked that it was a different way to serve red cabbage. It wasn't bad, just not my favorite. Maybe it was too sweet for my liking. If I were to cook again, I'd use less sugar AND less vinegar as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States