Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Great recipe, but I did do some tweaking after reading reviews. I used 1 1/4 cups of water, 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, only I omitted the butter, only two tablespoons of brown sugar, and two Fuji apples. I was looking for a recipe similar to my Mother-in-Law's red cabbage, and this came darn close! With my changes the recipe was still sweet, but had a nice tartness to it. I would have made the recipe as written, but I made the changes so it was more diet friendly. I'll definitely be making this again! Next time I might try it in the crockpot to save time in the kitchen after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I liked that it was a different way to serve red cabbage. It wasn't bad, just not my favorite. Maybe it was too sweet for my liking. If I were to cook again, I'd use less sugar AND less vinegar as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is the absolute best red cabbage recipe! I used apple cider vinegar and added a little mustard but wow this recipe is insane. I also find it's best to add the apples in after the cabbage has cooked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellainsect

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
We loved this! My kids went back for thirds! I did reduce the vinegar and used apple cider vinegar because that's what I had. Maybe next time, I'll add a little bacon! We had it with honey-mustard ham tonight and it was de LI cious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate U.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This reicpe made a LOT of cabbage. The recipe was fine, I guess I just discovered that our family does not care for Red Cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaselsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So tasty. I love the spice mixture in this dish. Only used 1T of butter and 1T olive oil.I used raw cider vinegar, about 3/4 cup. I added one half onion thinly sliced and waited to add the apples after cooking cabbage/onion mixture for about 8-10 minutes then just cooked about 5- 10 minutes longer. I like it al dente. I didn't use any water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
We used this recipe for an Oktoberfest we did for one of our clients and this was very easy and the taste was great. We did not cook the apples to mush which was a plus they loved the appeal to their palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is an authentic as I've found recipe for German red cabbage that I've ever found and liked. It was a great hit at the family German fest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
A bit sweet but otherwise, quite good. Will try it with balsamic vinegar and less sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Cold or hot this a nice side dish. Let it cook for the correct amount of time to get right softness. Next time I will cut the vinegar in 1/2 and see how it tastes. We are also thinking this would be great on a hot dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States