Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful! But... I prefer to add the apples after the cabbage is cooked. Otherwise the apples cook down and become pasty. The spices are perfect!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The best and one of the easiest to make, also very low in sodium. My wife loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I thought this recipe had a bit too much bite for my taste. I'll use less vinegar next time. I used White Balsamic vinegar. My dh liked it more than me. The kids didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe is just what I was looking for! I absolutely fell in love with this side dish, while staying in Maastricht (southern Netherlands) Thanks so much for the post...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I made this recipe for guests on St. Patrick's Day, and I had to print the recipe for the ladies. The cabbage and apple sweet & sour recipe was a big hit! Oh, I added baby carrots cut in half and diced portabella mushrooms to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe, just like the Rohtkole you find in the best German restaurants. Add a bay leaf or two for really authentic german flavor. Froze well in my foodsaver and reheated better than the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
If you're anti cabbage-slicing: I used one jar of red cabbage (drained), 2 Granny apples, 1/2 cup of white wine vinegar and 3/8 cup of brown sugar. Mmmm...I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
After reading the other reviews, I used cider vinegar and added caroway seed. It smelled wonderful while cooking, but I ended up tossing it out because it was too tangy for us - too much vinegar. I'll try it again with much less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
This was a fabulous recipe! It tasted like it came directly out of an authentic German restaurant. I used cider vinegar and reduced quantity to about 2/3 cup since my husband is not a fan of vinegar. He wasn't planning on eating it, but actually admitted he liked it! It is such a nice variation to your typical green beans, corn, peas, etc. & fairly healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I've worked with it twice now. I had an awesome crop of cabbage this years thanks to my husbands ingenius irigation device. Therefore I have adapted the recipe just a bit to acomodate canning the cabbage. First I increased the recipe by 6. Also I added 1 quart of my homemade applesauce which does include some sugar and cinnamon. I used cider vinegar because it is not quite so strong, and I added caraway seed, ( about 2 Tablespoons) to the recipe. I do not add the butter because I am canning the cabbage and sometimes giving it as gifts to my husbands Checz family. The butter though should be added upon heating as it does add so much to the flavor. An excellent recipe, and I do find it to be too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States