Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
A keeper -- Husband came home from work, saw the purple gook and doubted it -- after 3 helpings, he said, "Keep this one!" I served it with mustard porkchops (1 T mustard, 1 T lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, salt pepper) that went great with the tangy cabbage. I cut the cider vinegar down to 1/3 cup and cooked it in a heavy skillet (minus the water) as I didn't have 45 min. to let it cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesakelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Great with sauerbraten. Cut back the vinegar. I also used cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
As others suggested, I used less vinegar and more brown sugar. I used 4 T brown sugar and 1/3 cup vinegar. Both my husband and I loved it. A great recipe!! This recipe reminded me of the one my mom made many years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! Our dinner guests talked about it all the way home - along with the German Rouladen and Spaetzle also from this site my hubby and I made it with. I did use apple cider vinegar and 1/2 cup less according to the reviews, I also neglected to peel the apples but they were chopped up so fine you couldn't even tell. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is absolutely wonderful! But... I prefer to add the apples after the cabbage is cooked. Otherwise the apples cook down and become pasty. The spices are perfect!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The best and one of the easiest to make, also very low in sodium. My wife loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I thought this recipe had a bit too much bite for my taste. I'll use less vinegar next time. I used White Balsamic vinegar. My dh liked it more than me. The kids didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This recipe is just what I was looking for! I absolutely fell in love with this side dish, while staying in Maastricht (southern Netherlands) Thanks so much for the post...it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I made this recipe for guests on St. Patrick's Day, and I had to print the recipe for the ladies. The cabbage and apple sweet & sour recipe was a big hit! Oh, I added baby carrots cut in half and diced portabella mushrooms to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara N

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Excellent recipe, just like the Rohtkole you find in the best German restaurants. Add a bay leaf or two for really authentic german flavor. Froze well in my foodsaver and reheated better than the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States