Red Cabbage With Apricots And Balsamic Vinegar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Good with fresh apricots and honey substituted for dried apricots and preserves. Good with coarsely minced and fried pork on top with a side salad for a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Not a good combination to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My family loved it!!! Even my picky eater!! I thought it was too sweet so I would cut down on the preserves, maybe even down to a tablespoon or 2. I used half the butter called for and it was still great. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
What a beautiful and tasty way to use red cabbage! The flavours were wonderful and I made the recipe as listed but when tasting it there seemed to be something missing. I know it sounds weird but I added a couple of dashes of Worcestershire sauce and it gave it that little bit of umpf that made people go back for seconds and my mom ask for the recipe. Feels good when mothers start asking daughters for recipes... Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I liked it overall, my husband liked the flavor but not the texture and my 5 year old gagged on the small cabbage strings. Not the most kid friendly but I expected that. Has a great Chutney flavor with the spices used. Did only 2T butter to make it a bit healthier and half a head of cabbage. Sliced the cabbage and half an onion thin on my mandoline, and chopped the apricots with a knife. Nice change for a side dish. Added it to my turkey meatloaf dinner. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a very tasty way to enjoy red cabbage! I decreased the butter to 2 T and the preserves (actually used some mystery jelly from well-meaning relatives) to 2 T, and used dried mixed fruit, which happened to include some apricots, but also apples and pears. The point is: you won't miss the extra butter, and if you don't have the precise ingredients, you can probably make do with something already in your fridge. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I borrowed another reviewer's idea and added feta cheese. It was tasty and looked pretty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I followed this recipe to the letter. Allspice? If your going to use vinagar you need sugar. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I cut this recipe down to 4 serving. I used fresh apricots, so I put in 3/4 cup. It was a little sweet for me, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I enjoyed this, but BF quit after a few bites--and he eats everything (hence the 3 stars instead of 4). I'd make some changes for personal preference: use about a quarter of the apricots (I used unsweetened and unsulfured, which are a bit more tart and too strong in this dish), half the spices, and twice the onions (which I caramelized). The onions, while sweet themselves, really helped balance out the sweetness and tang of the sauce. I used olive oil instead of butter. Overall, a very interesting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States