Red Cabbage-Asparagus Salad with Tahini Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I had everything but the tahini, I substituted apple cider vinegar and also added a dash of salt to the dressing and a few drops of Tabasco. This was delicious! Like others, I also omitted the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Banana
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING! The most important ideas/comments/notes are: 1. The dressing IS incredible! I've been looking for the perfect lemon tahini dressing ever since I ate at Mountain Oasis in Flagstaff, Arizona, and this one is a close second! I doubled it and saved the rest for a simple green salad the next day. 2. I added about a cup of thinly sliced jicama to add another color, flavor, and crunch to this dish. I'm considering a beet, as well, for next time. 3. I used the feta as an optional topping. I used one dish of plain feta and one with a mixture of the feta and dill (I omitted the dill from the raw recipe). 4. Leaving the mixture in the fridge for a couple of hours does help the flavors blend better than serving it right away. 5. A pinch of celery salt is nice to add, as well, upon serving. 6. Next time, I'm going to toast some pecans with some sugar and cayenne to add as another optional topping. To toast: Make sure all nuts are coated with butter before sprinkling the sugar and cayenne (VERY LITTLE cayenne goes a long way!). Spread them in a single layer at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes (until you can smell them . . . mmmmm!). 7. This recipe still deserves five stars, even though I tweaked it a little! It's nice and simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great! I added walnuts and raisins. In the sauce I added mayo and apple cider vinegar. I used dill, but not pine nuts as they cost too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Added a dash of Tabasco and pinch of salt and substituted pepitas for pine nuts because they were on hand. I liked this on day one, becasue I like the crunch. But did make it in the AM for a dinner. LOVED THIS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I loved this! So much better than typical cole slaw (probably because I love tahini). I unfortunately did not have any feta on hand (but I think it would be even better with it), and I replaced the asparagus with broccoli prepared exactly as the asparagus would be because I didn't have any asparagus. My husband told me he wanted me to add Chulula next time to give it a kick, which I will try, but I'm still giving this five stars because I've eaten it all week and the flavors get better every day in the fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
No one in my family particularly likes this salad (we're not big "tahini people"), but when I brought it (scaled to 24 servings) to a Holiday potluck, I came home with two pretty large salad bowls that were completely empty. Hence, the 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
excellent! i try to cook w/ fresh veggies daily, & this was a perfect springtime salad! i maybe doubled the feta & pine nuts, & next time will double the green onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I was extremely surprised at how wonderfully this recipe turned out. I HATE creamy sauce. I was very concerned when I made the dressing, but I tried it anyway and was VERY pleased. I added chicken and a ginger dressing. Thank you for sharing. I will make this recipe repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! I did not have to change a thing and the dill really adds that extra touch. I did double the tahini dressing recipe, it was just so good. I made this for a vegan luncheon and it was a real hit!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Inyokern, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Everybody loved the dressing in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States