Red Cabbage-Asparagus Salad with Tahini Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This salad tastes way better on the second day! It was pretty good the evening I made it but when I brought it for lunch the second day it was even better. (If you intend to keep it over night don't add the cheese until you are ready to serve individual portions as it will start to run when it mixes witht the dressing.) The cabbage was just too crisp the first time around, after it had a chance to soften up in the fridge overnight and mingle with the dressing it was just right. It might have helped if I had sliced the cabbage a little thinner....but I tried to keep it about the same size as the asparagus. I doubled the amount of the dressing because I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Tahini! The dressing is very good; I plan to use it as a topping for other salads in the future. The dill...I'm still undecided about; which is why I only gave it 4 stars. I'm not a huge dill fan but that's just me. I think mint might be an interesting option, we'll see next time as I plan to make this again. Very simple, colorful and tasty salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caruthers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I was extremely surprised at how wonderfully this recipe turned out. I HATE creamy sauce. I was very concerned when I made the dressing, but I tried it anyway and was VERY pleased. I added chicken and a ginger dressing. Thank you for sharing. I will make this recipe repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
excellent! i try to cook w/ fresh veggies daily, & this was a perfect springtime salad! i maybe doubled the feta & pine nuts, & next time will double the green onion as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This salad was excellent with just a few changes. I mixed up the cabbage, radishes, green onion, and tahini dressing early in the day and let that sit in the fridge. Later on I thought it needed a little something, so I added about 2 Tbsp of mayo and 1 Tbsp of apple cider vinegar. That was much better. I didn't add the dill because I didn't think it was a good dish for dill and I subsituted sliced almonds for the pine nuts. Before serving I cooked the asparagus and added that along with the feta cheese. Other than that, the only other addition I made was chicken. I grilled two marinaded chicken breasts and then thinly sliced them (still warm) onto the salad. So good. My husband loved it. Next time we decided we're going to try adding some golden raisins and bleu cheese intead of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I liked the first few bites of this salad and thought the dill complemented it nicely, but the longer it sat, the stronger the dill flavor got, and the less I liked it. The tahini dressing gave it almost a cheesy flavor, which wasn't so bad, but I wasn't really crazy about it with the asparagus. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Sorry...we just didn't find this dressing palatable. Added a little salt and that helped a little but overall not something I would ever make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
No one in my family particularly likes this salad (we're not big "tahini people"), but when I brought it (scaled to 24 servings) to a Holiday potluck, I came home with two pretty large salad bowls that were completely empty. Hence, the 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Everybody loved the dressing in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! I did not have to change a thing and the dill really adds that extra touch. I did double the tahini dressing recipe, it was just so good. I made this for a vegan luncheon and it was a real hit!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Inyokern, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Okay. This recipe was pretty freaking good. Make more dressing. Instead of water add lemon juice to the dressing. You can add more dill, this recipe is conservative. It sounds crazy but I had corn tortillas in the fridge from tacos last week and i ate it in those and is was DELICIOUS. It can use more radishes than the recipe calls for. Also I added a shredded carrot for sweetness. It was sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States