Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Amended my recipes and only added 2 Tablespoons of white balsamic vinegar, 2 tablespoons of chicken juice, 1 tablespoon of sugar in the raw. 2 thumbs up from the boyfriend ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
My husband enjoyed this and, besides peeling the apples, this was simple to make. My biggest problem was in gauging when the cabbage was "cooked down" enough to add the other ingredients, and I way overcooked it. If there was some type of guideline for those of us who are cabbage ignorant, it would be really helpful! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Great recipe! I added a bit of grated fresh ginger, 1/4 cup of raisins and a pinch of allspice. Used brown sugar and apple cider vinegar. Next time I will also use apple juice instead of water as I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I used my home made red cabbage sauerkraut and a red delicious apple. I made half the recipe here as I only had four cups of cabbage. It turned out great except next time I'll use Granny Smith apple because the red delicious got too soft too quickly. I also used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar as others suggested. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Molin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Tangy and delish! A bit of caraway seed and a pinch of ground clover up the savoriness of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Use apple cider vinegar Not white vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Outstanding dish! Loved the sweet and sour aspect. Made the recipe as written but used apple cider vinegar and splenda to make this a guilt free side dish. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I'd give this 6 stars if I could its so delicious!! Needed a recipe for red cabbage since we had a bumper crop in our garden this year. Cooked exactly as written, with the exception of using the Fuji apples that I had on hand, though I'm sure it'll be even better with granny smiths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Durband Burns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After getting a whole head of red cabbage and no ideas of what to do with it except slice some for a salad I turned to All Recipes. This recipe sounded good so I tried it. It was just ok. it was a small head of cabbage and there were 4 of us for dinner, not one person took seconds. It's still in the fridge and none have touched it. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love it! A nice variation on the equally good Hungarian or German recipe. I used cider vinegar as well, and I think it could taste great with white balsamic vinegar too. I also agree that adding the apple at a later stage is better, you will have a nicer bite. Last time I added a few golden raisins with the apple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States