Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
I was searching for this recipe for a few months, I had made it before in culinary school and loved it sooo much. I made a few changed: I used apple cider vinegar, plus more of it, I also used brown sugar rather than the white. I did however cook the cabbage a little too long, I would have liked a more firm texture and the apples lost their texture as well. Otherwise this is a nice dish, a little different and a pleasant change from corn or green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a very delicious recipe. I presteamed my cabbage. When it was time to prepare the rest of the dish I simply sauted the onions and apples 10-15min then added everything else. it was done after about 5 min. of simmer time! I also substituted with the brown sugar and cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
This recipe came the closest to the Rotkraut we had in Leavenworth, Washington. Instead of apples I used applesauce so the flavor blended more evenly through the cabbage. It brought back a lot of happy vacation memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was an easy, quick and really tasty recipe. I substituted 3 strips of bacon in lieu of the oil and also used apple sauce instead of apples. I wish I would have made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
We really enjoyed this different dish. And easy enough to make. I used another reviewers suggestion and used apple cider vinegar (instead of white) and brown sugar (instead of white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I have made this several times and it is wonderful. This time I used bacon drippings instead of the oil and it was better yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I'd had Red Cabbage with Apples in a German restaurant and really loved it. This recipe was so close to it and really good. I did add about 1 c. of sweetened applesauce to it, instead of the apples. Then I reduced the sugar to 2 T. and increased the vinegar to 4 T. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
Good, colorful dish. I used 2 Tbsp. each of vinegar and sugar and liked the result. The only thing I would add to the directions is to watch carefully for sticking during the 25 minutes of simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
My go-to recipe every time we have pork shoulder roast. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was better than I've had in many German Restaurants. My husband thought he had "gone to heaven." He said it didn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States