Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was a very delicious recipe. I presteamed my cabbage. When it was time to prepare the rest of the dish I simply sauted the onions and apples 10-15min then added everything else. it was done after about 5 min. of simmer time! I also substituted with the brown sugar and cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
After reading this receipe and checking my fridge I didn't have any apples but did have fresh beets. I sliced them and cooked them with the cabbage. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
WOW. This was sooooo good. My husband really liked this recipe. The only thing I did differently was to scale down the recipe a bit. I also did not add any salt, and with only a half head of red cabbage, only added a few tsp of vinegar and sugar to taste. Thank you so much for the recipe. It was extremely simple to make and just the right amount of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This recipe was SO good and SO easy! My picky hubby and kids REALLY liked this one and have asked me to make it again! Who ever would have thought their kids would be asking for cabbage? Really- try this one it is SO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
We really enjoyed this different dish. And easy enough to make. I used another reviewers suggestion and used apple cider vinegar (instead of white) and brown sugar (instead of white).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
It was good but I don't think I made it tart enough. It seemed that the vinger and sugar flavor hand not penetrated the cabbage. Maybe I did not cook it long enough but I didn't want to cook the cabbage down too much and have it loose its consistency. I'll keep experimenting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I browned six big chicken sausages, and then cooked cabbage in juices. Finished cooking sausages in oven. added 6 more apples and used apple juice instead of vinegar. Added the juice from sausages in oven when I added sausages back in, Makes a heartier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
You gotta try it.... its the best. I could eat the whole thing myself. I served it to company and they were impressed and pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Yum! This was much better than I had anticipated. I added one extra Tbsp of vinegar, because it was initially too sweet, but the extra vinegar fixed that. Served it with pork roast and dumplings and even my kids thought it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Very good recipe, much better than the canned sort! But 2/3 servings??? That's a lot of cabbage! I halved the recipe for the two of us and we had more than enough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States