Red Cabbage and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very delicious. I followed the recipe just as written with no changes. Be sure to add the vinegar/sugar mixture and taste test as you go to get it just where you want it. Perfect balance of sweet to sour and a very lively dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was so good, I ate it for lunch instead of as a side dish. I used brown sugar and cider vinegar as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wow this looks really similar to my Moms recipe (she is from Germany). We grew up eating this stuff and all loved it - 5 kids. Differences: Add 1 -2 c. water - Simmer for 2 hours - when it's done at 1 T flour to make a little "sauce" optional. Also She used apple cider vinegar and maybe just one tablespoon of sugar. I make it now all the time with 1 T. Splenda - have a big plateful every day for lunch. Good diet food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evelyn R.
Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This is a terrific recipe. I just made this using half red and half green cabbage. I used 6 Tbs honey instead of sugar and 6 Tbs organic apple cider vinegar and it is delicious. Thanks Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great make ahead recipe. I think using wine vinegar added to its success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Shimberg
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was ok I think it would be better without the apples. Also was a little too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Shimberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delicious! I followed others' suggestions and subbed apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. And it didn't need the full cooking time. Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is as close to the red cabbage I had as a child that I have ever found and it was great. My family loved it also. I will make this again and will try it with bacon fat for a change of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is delicious! I followed other's suggestions and used apple cider vinegar and brown sugar. Also, I only needed to simmer it for about 15 minutes instead of the 25 before it was really tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This was the exact flavor I was looking for!!! Had it at a restraunt once and I have been craving it ever since. I used brown sugar and apple cidar vinegar like someone else suggested. Perfect! I gave this five stars because I loved it, my husband hated it but he doesnt like cabbage anyway. oh well, thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States