Red Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was delicious when fresh. Very flavorful. Good as leftovers the second day, however bacon tends to get a little soggy. Second time I made used roasted pine nuts, and sprinkled the bacon and nuts on each serving so bacon was not soggy as a leftover. The pine nuts were an excellent substitute for the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I used 4 tablespoons of Bac-o s instead of the actual bacon because I am a vegetarian, but it's also healthier and makes the prep time shorter. But if going to use baco s instead of real bacon, only add it right before serving because otherwise they get mushy, and don't taste good. I also used light mayonnaise and added some raisins. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This recipe was recommended to me by a co-worker who makes it every year for Christmas. I also made it for Christmas dinner. Wow! It is awesome. I got many compliments. I do agree with others who state that it is time consuming but it is well worth it. I used 2 1/2 heads of broccoli and doubled everything but the sugar, bacon and nuts to lower the calories. There is no need to use so much sugar as the grapes give the salad the sweetness needed. This recipe will definitely join my favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
This is a fantastic salad. Definitely main dish material! The maple flavored bacon is a nice touch. The red grapes and almonds add a nice flavor, too. I think best if allowed to chill for 3-4 hours before serving. Gets kind of mushy if not used up within 48 hours, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This is a great broccoli salad. I made it for poker night and the guys loved it. I only used one pound of bacon though and put them in right before serving to keep them from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
simply AMAZING. i used turkey bacon instead, not as much sugar and light mayo. i will definitely make this dish often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
I have been making this recipe for over almost a year and EVERYONE loves it. Everyone time I make it someone asks for the recipe. I usually use 2 heads of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
Wow! This was a huge hit at my husband's 40th Birthday Party/BBQ! Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe before they would leave. I came down to my computer and printed off 12 copies for guests to take home! I have to admit, though, it was a bit time consuming. However, the end definitely justified the means!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This was a very tasty salad that, as suggested, turned into a meal in itself!! I ate it for supper last night, breakfast and lunch today - yummy! There is just the right blend of crunchy with tangy and the tastes were very complementary. I used maple bacon and green grapes and it was delicious. My husband generally isn't a big broccoli fan and really, really like this one too. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
It did take a while to prepare but it was worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States