Red Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This salad is amazingly delicious! I felt that the original recipe sounded slightly too high calorie so I made the following changes: - I used plain yogurt instead of the mayonnaise - no sugar - no bacon - balsamic vinegar instead of the white vinegar (that's all I had) With these changes the salad was not only delicious but also healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfirestorm45

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Left out the green onions and bacon just as a personal preference and it was totally incredibly delicious!! Perfection!! I have tried several broccoli salad recipes from this website and this one is the winner, it is so sweet and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Took the pain to blanch, sliver and toast almonds. Very good salad indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wonderful!! I only use 1/4 - 1/2 of the dressing and add in the bacon only when it is time to eat the salad. The bacon doesn't sit in the fridge well. Bacon Bits are a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
It tastes fresh and delicious. I sticked to the recipe except cut half of the sugar. The flavors of bacon, vegi, fruit and nut blended surprisingly well. Next time I will substitute yogurt for mayonnaise and cut off 3/4 sugar and 1/2 bacon, just to make it healthier. Thanks very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Five stars for sure. I would use 1lb of bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a hit every time I take it to a function. Everyone wants the recipe. Must remember to bring copies with me next time I make it. I don't use as many onions, I use half of what is called for in the recipe. Other than that I wouldn't change anything. Jeannine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I can't get enough of this salad. Love it, love it, love it! Don't change a thing. tna_dunn Frisco, TX USA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
WOW is this dish yummy! If you love onions you will love this. The prep work does take time especially if you do not use a food processor. I will add a few less red onions next time and increase the amount of dressing just a tad. I actually thought this was delicious right after I assembeled it! It is a very hearty salad and as the other reviewers noted can be a meal in itself. I might add some chopped tart apple next time since this combination could handle that taste very well. I highly recommend this to everyone that loves all the ingredients independently. This dish is a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
What a huge hit!! I served this at a progressive dinner in our neighborhood and received lots of compliments and requests for this recipe. A little time consuming to make with all the chopping, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States