Red Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I have been looking for a broccoli salad recipe for awhile and stumbled across this one. I have made this salad a few times and everyone has RAVED about it!! There is a lot of prep time involved but soo worth it! I haven't used maple bacon yet (hard to find) but regular bacon has worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great balance. Second time I made it, I only had cider vinegar. Still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I have made this salad twice and it is OUT OF THIS WORLD! The ingredients sounded funny at first, but whatever...it works! I served it with shrimp and it went rather well. There was nothing left after my dinner party was through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. It was so good to me. My hubby didn't like it and a couple of others didn't love it like I did, but there were a couple who ooo-ed and aaaah-ed over it like I did. I don't think it'll win everyone's hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
What an AWESOME Salad. I made it for Christmas Eve, Christams day, and for the day after Christmas for three different get togethers. The first day I made it exactly as stated except for using roasted soy nuts instead of almonds as my son is allergic to peanuts and tree nuts. Excellent! The second day I substituted a head of iceberg lettuce for the celery as I am not a big fan of the taste of celery but I liked the crunch it gave the salad. Also, all I had on hand this day was turkey bacon and it was delicious in the salad. This turned out excellent as well. The third day I doubled the recipe and it came out great. I only used two packages of bacon when I doubled the recipe. And the first two days I used one package each. I don't believe one package is 2lbs of meat, but one package is more than enough in this rich salad! Thank you so much for an awesome recipe Maggie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Topel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
made this today for my bunco group tonight. Just had to try it.....OMG! awesome! will be making this again for sure! Great combination of crunchiness and bacon goodness! I followed the recipe to a T. thanks for a great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a great dish. It was easy to prepare, although frying 2 lbs of bacon can take a bit of time depending on your circumstances. It was a great hit at the party I took it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is a delicious salad! I added some chopped apple, cucumber, and some sunflower seeds as others suggested. I left out the celery. I used the quick cook bacon. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was delicious. I too though would NOT add the red onions next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Gomez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
SOOO YUMMY!! My family has used a variation of this recipe for many years~in ours we add 1cup of sliced water chestnuts, 1.5 cups bean sprouts. We omit the red onion and use only green onion (don't want too much onion taste). Definitely try this recipe! It's a great combination of ingredients :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States