Red Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is exactly the same salad I have always coveted at the local country club. Now I know how to make it. I'm a little bothered by the idea of adding sugar to a salad, but it tastes good, and it's a heaping serving of veggies, so I can live with it. The club sometimes uses raisins instead of grapes which is also really good. I used regular bacon and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Guests raved about this salad! I subbed pomegranate seeds for the grapes for a fall feel and it was delicious that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Double the Broccoli and you are all set! This was very good and may end up on our Family table this year for the Holidays. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Wow, this salad is absolutely yummy. Made it for a birthday party and absolutely EVERYONE raved about it. The dressing is so easy and so yummy. I will be making this lots over summer. Family have already asked me to make for Christmas day. I used Walnuts instead of the almonds. Loved It, Loved It, Loved It....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This was fabulous! I only used half the amount of bacon this recipe called for, but, otherwise followed it to a "T". It was really great and enjoyed by all. I'll definately be making this again!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
loved it! You could also add cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kimberton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I followed this recipe somewhat loosely (I didn't really measure the ingredients except the sugar and the vinegar). I used about 3/4 lb of bacon and omitted the green onions (didn't have them on hand). THIS WAS THE BOMB!!! I loved it. I will definately make it again. I have enjoyed it for breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Excellent, with the following changes: 4-5 strips of lean, cooked turkey bacon chopped (2 lbs of bacon is just too much, and you can save on the fat content), I substituted a mix (that I found already packaged together) of dried raisins and cranberries for the grapes, used both a little red and green onion (I eyeball everything, don't usually measure), used the new olive oil mayo that is on the market, (low fat and better for you), kept the dressing measures as is (but used cider vinegar to cut the tart), and substituted some cashew peices for the almonds (I bought a cheap tin of broken pieces and toasted them slighly in the oven). Everything else, I kept the same. This was so good! My husband raved and usually passses on raw broccoli. This is delish and good for you if you make a couple of variations! My version is very similar to that of Sweet Tomatoes restaraunt. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIPPIEJAX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I use half the bacon and this is still awesome! Great summer side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Yum Yum! I put a little less grapes and added dried cranberries for that extra sweetness. 1 pd of bacon is just fine, and the red onion makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina D.

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States