Red Bell Pepper Coulis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised by this sauce. The only change I made was adding 3 cloves of garlic (I may add more next time). Once the sauce was pureed, I poured it back into the pan and tossed in some cooked jumbo shrimp for two or three minutes and served it over rice with a side of steamed green beans. This was a nice change from the usual cream sauces and not as heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Absolutely scrumpdillyishush! This tasted like a roasted red pepper sauce without the work of roasting and peeling. I will never roast them again. This was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDEGOLIER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
It's not often I'm this impressed when I try a new recipe. I often rate the recipes I try highly, with five stars, but it's difficult to differentiate when something I try is even better than that. This one is. I was tempted to used roasted red peppers for this, thinking the fresh red bell peppers wouldn’t provide enough flavor. Wrong. I added some fresh minced garlic for complexity and depth but other than that I didn’t deviate from the recipe and, other than adding salt and pepper, won’t the next time I make this either. Interestingly, it was equally as delicious without the sour cream as it was with it. I served this with “Simply Parmesan Chicken,” recipe also from this site, and linguine, but the possibilities for using this are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this with leeks and sauteed the veggies in some basil flavored olive oil. Then I poured it over some grilled chicken. My husband and I thought it was great. Next time I'll try it with some fish! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Tiberio Thorpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was great! As recommended, I added 3 cloves of garlic and did not have sour cream so used dairy cream instead and it was wondeful! I served over white fish and it was a big hit at dinner last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This sauce is absolutely incredible, and healthy too! I added a little garlic to the recipe, and used very low sodium chicken stock and light sour cream. I ended up placing the sauce on top of baked skinless boneless chicken breasts. The meal was perfect in every way, and looked so gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Delicious!!!! I made this for friends, and they absolutely loved it. I added three cloves of garlic, some oregano, a little extra sour cream, and a little half and half, and it turned out lovely. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This has a mild yet delicious flavor. Have made it several times and served it over ravioli. I do add garlic, oregano, and used light sour cream as other reviewers mentioned. Can't wait to try with chicken and shrimp. To the reviewer who used garlic instead of shallots, you need the mellow flavor of the slow cooked shallots rather than just a teaspoon or two of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
Wow!This had a great taste and great color presenation. I added more sour cream for a more creamier taste. I served this over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
YUM, YUM, YUM! This sauce exceeded my expectations. I did add some garlic as others suggested and used all chicken broth and no wine (I didn't have any wine on hand). I also used low fat sour cream. The color of the sauce was beautiful. I served this with Fried Green Tomatos sprinkled with a little bit of goat cheese. The sauce complimented the tomatos perfectly! Thanks for a great coulis recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States