Red Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made a complete meal by adding potato cubes directly with rice and cooked together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
For all you who are not latin, latin people called it pumpkin but it is NOT the Halloween pumpkin that you're thinking of and the who wrote the recipe should have stated this. It's called calabaza which is a squash. Most stores do not have it but do NOT use a Halloween pumpkin for this, substitute squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I have made this twice now. Once on the stovetop and once in a slow cooker. I loved the recipe but did not like using canned beans when dry beans taste better, are cheaper and so easy to make. Besides I'm Cuban and my mother would disown me if I used canned beans. That's like an Italian serving canned spaghettios for a special occasion. It's just not done. I soak a bag of red beans according to package directions. I've used small and kidney beans. I use the smallest bag size (1 pound I believe). I soak according to directions with only 1 variation. I only drain 1/2 of the soaking water and replace the water I removed with fresh water. I don't puree anything. I brown the meat, onions and green pepper then put in all the ingredients except the potatoes. Cooked the beans according to package directions and put the potatoes in at the end so that they wouldn't get mushy. Used butternut squash. No pumpkin available. Keeping with Cuban tradition, I had to add 6 slices of bacon cooked and chopped along with 2T of the bacon renderings. I also added 3 or 4 thumb size spanish chorizo sausage (NOT MEXICAN CHORIZO please). I peeled off the sausage casing and diced the sausage. I use exactly 8 packets of Sazon Goya instead of achiote powder. I used Sazon Goya's achiote version one time and the saffron flavor the 2nd. Both good. Since there are more beans than in the one can used in original recipe, I tripled up on the amount of veggies and meat. However, I only used one large green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
difficult recipe for finding ingredients. but worth it. I doubled the amount of seasoning. I ALSO USED BOTH HAM AND BACON O SEPERATE OCCASSIONS AND FELT BACON WAS A BETTER FLAVOR. i PRETTY MUCH SCALED EVERYTHING ELSE TO TASTE, I RECCOMEND YOU DO THE SAME. I COULDNT FIND PUMPKIN WHOLE, SO I USED CANNED, IT ADDED A REALLY NICE FLAVOR ELEMENT AND THICKENED THE BROTH. I DONT EVEN THINK I CARED IT WAS PUREEED INSTEAD OF CHUNKED. I THINK THE RIGHT FLAVOR IS MORE IMPT THAN HAVING IT FRESHLY CUBED AND BE A LESS FLAVORFUL SQUASH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yummy!!! I didn't have ham, but used leftover porkchops... Big mistake! I didn't think it would affect the flavor much, but it did. I also cooked them in the crockpot and substitued butternut for pumpkin. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent! A bit time consuming to prep but worth it for the complex flavors. Great spices without being hot. Double the recipe, you'll want to freeze a batch. We didn't have pumpkin so we substituted butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! I did not have pumpkin, so I used acorn squash instead......FABULOUS! This will be the only red bean recipe I use. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimba5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe is so yummy! I use butternut squash instead of pumpkin. I also use a Sazon with annatto packet of seasoning instead of the annatto alone because I have so much of it in my pantry already. Its so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My mom is Puerto Rican, and I lived in Puerto Rico as a child. I have been craving the red beans and rice I remember from this period, and this recipe totally hit the spot, I am so pleased. I didn't puree anything, just kept everything at a fine chop. I used smoked sausage instead of ham, yellow squash instead of pumpkin (even though I really wanted pumpkin - it's what I remember), and I had to use two packets of Sazon Goya instead of the annatto or achiote powder (I am going to keep trying to find these). It was SO GOOD, and had the exact flavor I remember and love. Next time I make it I am going to use more liquid, my husband wanted more "juice" for his rice. I thought it was perfect as is. Excellent, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was fantastic! It's the achiote powder that makes it so special, so don't skip it. I found a recipe online for making it. I don't know the difference between that receipe and storebought achiote powder, but it added a wonderful smoky richness. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States