Red Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My mom is Puerto Rican, and I lived in Puerto Rico as a child. I have been craving the red beans and rice I remember from this period, and this recipe totally hit the spot, I am so pleased. I didn't puree anything, just kept everything at a fine chop. I used smoked sausage instead of ham, yellow squash instead of pumpkin (even though I really wanted pumpkin - it's what I remember), and I had to use two packets of Sazon Goya instead of the annatto or achiote powder (I am going to keep trying to find these). It was SO GOOD, and had the exact flavor I remember and love. Next time I make it I am going to use more liquid, my husband wanted more "juice" for his rice. I thought it was perfect as is. Excellent, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Excellent! A bit time consuming to prep but worth it for the complex flavors. Great spices without being hot. Double the recipe, you'll want to freeze a batch. We didn't have pumpkin so we substituted butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was fantastic! It's the achiote powder that makes it so special, so don't skip it. I found a recipe online for making it. I don't know the difference between that receipe and storebought achiote powder, but it added a wonderful smoky richness. Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I have not yet tried the recipe. However, I am thankful for the red beans with latin flavor and will try and review soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Really good. I didn't have pumpkin, but I used yellow squash instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This recipe is so yummy! I use butternut squash instead of pumpkin. I also use a Sazon with annatto packet of seasoning instead of the annatto alone because I have so much of it in my pantry already. Its so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! I did not have pumpkin, so I used acorn squash instead......FABULOUS! This will be the only red bean recipe I use. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimba5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Zion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Yummy!!! I didn't have ham, but used leftover porkchops... Big mistake! I didn't think it would affect the flavor much, but it did. I also cooked them in the crockpot and substitued butternut for pumpkin. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I made a complete meal by adding potato cubes directly with rice and cooked together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Another good recipe by itself or to get creative with. As usual, I went the creative route. I prefer my meat:vegetable ratio to lean a bit more to the vegi side, so I used a large onion, large green pepper, 9 cloves of garlic (I love garlic) a half bunch of cilantro (I love garlic almost as much as I love cilantro) and 3 potatoes. I didn't have any fresh pumpkin, so I doubled the potatoes... I actually think the pumpkin would taste great too. I also used my own seasoning rather than the annatto powder, which I didn't have. Go with your gut on that. Finally, I squeezed half a lime and added a dash of Sherry wine into the processor mix. I followed the other ingrediants and preparation method as prescribed. Result? Very good. I was impressed with the variety of flavors, without the cilantro or garlic taking over. (now to others, that might be too much, so use according to taste) Makes a great side dish. Supercords
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States