Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wow, this is the one! easy, cheap, delicious. A fairly picky 13 and 11 yr old gobbled it up and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
tasted good, though looked a little funky after I put the cheese in. Pretty sure you could skip the cheese and it would be just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Love this! Much like chili, but with added rice and a bit meatier with less liquid. Was quick and easy. I made up 4 cups of regular rice in a rice steamer and ended up adding only 2 cups to the rest of the ingredients at the end. I saved the other 2 cups for separate meals. This gave a nice ratio of more meat and beans than rice. If you want to stretch the recipe to more servings, you could easily add a full 4 cups of cooked rice. Was super quick, filling, yummy, and inexpensive. What else could I ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
this was sooooo good. wow. thanks so much for the recipe. I only changed it up a bit, but only because of necessity (this was all I had): i used half ground beef and half kielbasa, and I used half red kidney beans and half white kidney beans. Oh, and I omitted the cheese, because I don't have any. I don't think it would need cheese. absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Very good! We had it this evening and was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Pretty good taste but I wasn't sure I understood the recipe - I used an ENTIRE 14 oz box of Sucess rice and thought that was too much. 3 bags would have been plenty. I also used only 8 oz of cheddar due to the fat factor. I really couldn't taste the beef in this at all - I don't know whether to add more beef or leave it out altogether next time. At any rate, this was quickly consumed by my teenaged boy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This is so simple yet so absolutely delicious. The reason why I love to eat chile! Enjoy with a glass of Rioja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This dish does not remotely resemble "classic" red beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
This is the absolute worst recipe i have ever tired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I have used this recipe for several potlucks by just adding more rice. I have also cut up kielbasi into bite size pieces instead of ground meat for variety. I find this recipe very good and my bowl is empty before the end of the a potluck dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States