Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
It was amazing. True southern flavor. I have been searching for a good red beans and rice recipe and this is it. No mention of rice though? I used basmati rice and served the beans on top. Can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This is a good basic quick recipe for red beans and rice. I prefer fresh garlic (2-3 toes finely chopped), one large onion chopped, and then following the recipe from there. Remember, do not salt your beans until after they almost fully cooked, otherwise they will not soften as nice as you might like. The hock is for seasoning. I have used smoked pork chops, ham shanks or omitted the pork and used a low sodium chicken stock and added a little more smoked sausage near the end of the cooking time. Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisette
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Used this recipe and enjoyed it more than the old stand-by recipe I've used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Didn't make any changes, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I loved this. I used my a little more of my homemade broth and added the rice to cook with the beans and New Mexican chili powder. Froze great and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Great and easy recipe. I left off the bay leaf because I didn't have any and the cayenne pepper because I'm whimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Hot Italian sausage. Take small French bread sub rolls and cut them in half. Scoop out the inside part of the roll and refill it with the red beans, rice and sausage. I call it a Cajun ice cream cone and you eat it just like one. Great for those cold Sunday football parties and tailgating at the stadium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I had some red beans that needed to be used up, and I've heard a lot about beans and rice, so I thought I would give it a try. I forgot to soak the beans overnight, so I tried to quick soak them, but I didn't do it right. Oh well... I didn't have a ham hock, so I just left that out. I used smoked turkey sausage and it turned out great. The only thing that didn't work was the beans weren't as creamy as I would like, but I think if I soak them overnight and maybe cook them a bit longer, it'll turn out great. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I like red beans and I like rice. but when their put together you still just have beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States