Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Hot Italian sausage. Take small French bread sub rolls and cut them in half. Scoop out the inside part of the roll and refill it with the red beans, rice and sausage. I call it a Cajun ice cream cone and you eat it just like one. Great for those cold Sunday football parties and tailgating at the stadium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I had some red beans that needed to be used up, and I've heard a lot about beans and rice, so I thought I would give it a try. I forgot to soak the beans overnight, so I tried to quick soak them, but I didn't do it right. Oh well... I didn't have a ham hock, so I just left that out. I used smoked turkey sausage and it turned out great. The only thing that didn't work was the beans weren't as creamy as I would like, but I think if I soak them overnight and maybe cook them a bit longer, it'll turn out great. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I like red beans and I like rice. but when their put together you still just have beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Delicious. I used half the cayenne and red pepper flakes because I was serving it to kids, and I used minced fresh onion and garlic. The middle-schoolers gobbled it up! Will definitely make it again and use full pepper amounts for my own family. Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE A WEEK LATER- made it for the family and this time i did a quick soak (boil then let sit in covered pot for one hour) instead of overnight soak. Not as good. Next time I will go back to her directions to soak overnight. I let this cook over super low heat pretty much all day long. The longer the better, I think, because it gets thick and rich. Next time I will also start with half the salt because after that long cooking, the salt was really concentrated, especially with all that sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe! This was my first time making beans and rice, and it turned out like a charm! Two things I did different, were to use bacon instead of sausage (it was all I had on hand), and I used fresh onion. Hubby absolutely LOVED it, and after we each enjoyed a good helping, I froze the leftovers for future meals (since it's only the two of us at home).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Loved this....omg it was so flavorful. I did not let the beans soak this long. I boiled in about six cups of water on high for 2-5 mins, removed from heat and let stand for an hour. Also I was quite spicy I would limit the cayenne. But this dish will have you saying, "laissez bon temps rouler."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Very tasty! Served 40 guests at a seminar with the food being a Southern theme. I am a California Bay Area girl and have never done Rice and Beans. Thought it might be too spicy, but it was a hit. Cranked up the servings on the recipe to 35. Used pinto beans (personally I don't like red), didn't soak them, used Italian sausage, fresh garlic, diced onion and 1/2 the salt according to the recipe. There were several other bean dishes and tons of other food... there was only 3-4 servings left. Dinner! Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Absolutely everything I was hoping it would be! Perfect!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is by far the best red beans and rice recipe that I have used. I cooked it exactly as the instructions are written here. If you are looking for the best recipe, look no further this is the one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carthage, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made it for the second time just now. It was wonderful - spices were just perfect in taste, although I did cut the salt by half for health reasons and substituted truvia for sugar. Overdid the andouille sausage first time, plan to only add about half the quantity. Followed the recipe pretty much both times though. However, as Clara Peller once said, "Where's the (beef) RICE?!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States