Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This recipe was good, I added some parsley, cayenne pepper, thyme, sage and some cajun seasoning that another recipe suggested. I also used a red pepper instead of a green pepper and it was great. A big hit! Really good served with Corn Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
We really enjoyed this. It does need seasoned, I added cayenne pepper and cajun seasonings. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great recipe, my wife and I enjoyed it very much and will make it again. I used a can of diced tomatoes and green chiles which added some good spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I just love this recipe. It's so versatile. I sauteed some red onion beforehand. Mom & hubby LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was very good. I have a huge family, so I increased the amount of beans and tomatoes. I wasn't so sure about the tomatoes in it, but they gave it kick. I will definitely use this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was sooo good!! I followed some of the advice of the reviewers, and changed the recipe some. I'm so glad I made this! My changes: skipped the onion, sauteed a little bit of frozen diced green pepper. It seemed like a lot of sausage for just 1 can of kidney beans, so I used 2 cans of light red kidney beans. I used 1 can of petite diced tomatoes, drained the can into the pan and only used half of the tomatoes (my preference). I added the following seasonings while everything was simmering: garlic powder, creole seasoning, cayenne pepper and oregano. I can't wait to have leftovers for dinner this evening! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lbg205
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Delicious and easy. Spiced it up with some chili powder, garlic powder and some sea salt during the simmer phase. I would cook more rice next time - 1 cup was not enough, but a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Super easy and inexpensive meal that will last several days. I liked this recipe because I prefer not to have my beans all mashed up. Also, this is very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Even better the next day. I added some Zataran's Creole seasoning as well as Andouille sausage. Used more onion and green pepper (frozen diced as a timesaver). Will make this again for my Mardi Gras gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I doubled the rice (2 cups of rice, 4 cups water) Used a whole green pepper but diced it more than chopped it. Both the kidney beans and the diced tomato I found in mild chili sauce and I think that added a nice sauce. My 4 year old ate this dish and said it was good. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States