Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Healthy and delicious! I used an extra can of beans and turkey sausage to up the nutrtion. Also added a good amount of creole seasoning, cumin and chili powder to up the flavor. Oh and brown instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Zataran's is the closest I've been to cajun cooking, and that said, this is SO MUCH BETTER! This is one of the easiest meals to make, adaptable (I use brown rice and turkey kielbasa) and is really fast. The funny thing is, it's a lot healthier than the boxed versions and it takes the same amount of time. Win, Win. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This makes a quick and easy Red Beans & Rice, but extra seasoning definitely needs to be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Beard Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Outstanding. I doubled the beans and rice, as the recipe called for an imbalance of sausage to beans in my opinion. I also doubled the bell pepper. I added 2 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cumin and 1 tsp Tony Cachere's Creole seasoning. I used Eddy's spicy Yoakum, Texas smoked sausage, which is excellent for this dish, but does add some extra fire. The dish contains a wonderful mix of flavors and textures. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This turned out pretty well. I omitted the tomatoes. I also forgot to drain the beans so I just boiled the excess liquid off. I started the rice at the same time as the red bean mixture, and the rice was actually done first. I thought it would be the other way around. I also substituted brown rice. The sausage I used ended up being too spicy, but that's not this recipes' fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was so easy and very good. I didn't use the sausage and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Not really authentic red beans and rice But Is very tasty. I add cajun seasonings to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreece2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Great recipe! I loved this one, it's simple, easy and tasty. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coastie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
pretty good and easy, added some Louisiana hot sauce to it. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Quick, easy and tasty! I also used 2 cloves of fresh garlic and added a quarter teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States