Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The combined flavors of this dish are delectable! I use Hillshire Farms pork smoked sausage and red beans instead of kidney beans. I also add about a qtr tsp each of cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, oregano, blk pepper, and approx a 1/2 tsp of chili powder. I prefer red bell pepper instead of green and the diced tomatoes I use have green chiles in it which I think really enhances the flavor. I've also chopped up and added some jarred jalapenos for an added kick...not too much though, maybe about a tblspn worth. Excellent dish that I'll continue to make and serve many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great, quick recipe. I used bacon instead of sausage and mild Rotel instead of tomatoes. Spiced it up with some garlic, black pepper, cumin, oregano. Let it simmer for about an hour and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Made this last night and it turned out pretty good. I added Tony's, cayenne, garlic powder, pepper, thyme, and paprika. I used smoked beef sausage. Husband liked it, and he's picky. Paired with jalapeno cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
GREAT! I have always used zatarains but never will again after trying this recipe. So easy and good! Used rotel instead of diced tomatoes and added another can of kidney beans and some hot sauce. I like them hot!!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very simple, but not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was easy to make and I had everything I needed on hand. I added some garlic powder, cumin, salt and black pepper. This is definitely not gourmet fare, but a nice, filling meal. I would make this again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was really good the only thing that I changed was adding tomoatos with green chiles> I loved it and will make it again but it was a lil spicy for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My boyfriend is always looking for a good soul food meal and this took the win. We both loved it! I let it simmer for about 30 mintues and then mixed it the rice. We ate it with collard greens on the side. The whole meal was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I didn't particularly like chunks of tomatoes in this. I used bulk sausage in mine and added some beef boulion, Cavenders seasoning and a little starch to thicken it up. I'll try it again, maybe with tomato sauce instead of diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Fantastic!! I spiced it up a bit w/cumin, chili powder and garlic pepper, and used my own canned tomatoes. My son loved it, which was great since he's so finicky. Oh, i doubled the beans as well... good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States