Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Made this last night and it turned out pretty good. I added Tony's, cayenne, garlic powder, pepper, thyme, and paprika. I used smoked beef sausage. Husband liked it, and he's picky. Paired with jalapeno cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
GREAT! I have always used zatarains but never will again after trying this recipe. So easy and good! Used rotel instead of diced tomatoes and added another can of kidney beans and some hot sauce. I like them hot!!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy 4 Tummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very simple, but not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was easy to make and I had everything I needed on hand. I added some garlic powder, cumin, salt and black pepper. This is definitely not gourmet fare, but a nice, filling meal. I would make this again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was really good the only thing that I changed was adding tomoatos with green chiles> I loved it and will make it again but it was a lil spicy for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My boyfriend is always looking for a good soul food meal and this took the win. We both loved it! I let it simmer for about 30 mintues and then mixed it the rice. We ate it with collard greens on the side. The whole meal was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I didn't particularly like chunks of tomatoes in this. I used bulk sausage in mine and added some beef boulion, Cavenders seasoning and a little starch to thicken it up. I'll try it again, maybe with tomato sauce instead of diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Fantastic!! I spiced it up a bit w/cumin, chili powder and garlic pepper, and used my own canned tomatoes. My son loved it, which was great since he's so finicky. Oh, i doubled the beans as well... good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Healthy and delicious! I used an extra can of beans and turkey sausage to up the nutrtion. Also added a good amount of creole seasoning, cumin and chili powder to up the flavor. Oh and brown instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Zataran's is the closest I've been to cajun cooking, and that said, this is SO MUCH BETTER! This is one of the easiest meals to make, adaptable (I use brown rice and turkey kielbasa) and is really fast. The funny thing is, it's a lot healthier than the boxed versions and it takes the same amount of time. Win, Win. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States