Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was just ok for me, even after adding additional spices as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was terrific, although I too used seasonings to spice things up a bit. Salt, cayenne, cumin, and garlic. I also used Smart Balance instead of butter to saute the veggies. Very tasty and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I make this without the susage and use vegetable stock and I add in some cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was very good. I added a few tbls of creole season and an extra can of beans to help it go farther. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abi B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Delicious! Both by girls ate all of it. I did not have sausages but had board head petit ham. I cut them in cubes and used some cajun seasoning mix. It was delicious served hot with tabasco sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bestdumplings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
4 stars because, on the recommendation of others who rated this recipe, I did need to add additional seasoning I added 1 t chili powder, 1/2 t ground cumin seed and 1/2 t Ancho chili powder. I also used light smoked sausage to reduce the fat and calories. My whole family loved it including the kids. I will definitely be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyTrap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Very good! I combined a few others suggestions for this quick and easy dinner. I used EVOO instead of butter, red peps, a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies. Added chili powder, a clove of garlic, and some cayenne pepper after I fed my two year old- (who loved it also), and a squeeze of fresh lemon. Ill have to remember this one. Awesome dinner- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crusie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is my 8 yr-old son's favorite dish. I use a 'healthy' turkey sausage and sometimes add spices and garlic. It's always a winner. We top with sour cream and cheese. It's more like a sausage chili and he always asks for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Welshie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wixom, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The combined flavors of this dish are delectable! I use Hillshire Farms pork smoked sausage and red beans instead of kidney beans. I also add about a qtr tsp each of cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, oregano, blk pepper, and approx a 1/2 tsp of chili powder. I prefer red bell pepper instead of green and the diced tomatoes I use have green chiles in it which I think really enhances the flavor. I've also chopped up and added some jarred jalapenos for an added kick...not too much though, maybe about a tblspn worth. Excellent dish that I'll continue to make and serve many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great, quick recipe. I used bacon instead of sausage and mild Rotel instead of tomatoes. Spiced it up with some garlic, black pepper, cumin, oregano. Let it simmer for about an hour and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States