Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe and this was a TOTAL hit for our family! All the kids loved it, and one of them even had THIRDS! This is a great dish because there is something in it for everyone... you know, the kid that refuses to eat meat, the kid that refuses to eat veggies, etc- well, in this dish everyone has something they love- and they all taste wonderful together! Thanks for posting! GREAT meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is a good base recipe and with some changes my family loved it. Instead of butter I used olive oil. I replaced the tomatoes with diced tomatoes with green chiles, added about half a cup of water and added a can of pinto beans along with the kidney beans (the only other kind I had). I seasoned it with garlic powder, black pepper, salt, cumin and green chile powder and before serving I stirred the rice into the bean mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I just finished making my version of this recipe and it turned out great. Here were the changes I made: I used wild rice instead of long-grain I used 1 1/4T veg oil in place of butter I julienned the veggies using 1 onion, 1 green pepper, 1 red pepper and 1 zucchini I also added some chili pepper and cayenne to the saute mixture as suggested by another reviewer. I really liked the taste and texture of this dish. Thanks for the recipe "starter":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I took the advice of many others before me, and I used tomatos with jalapeños, as well as adding the cayenne pepper, cumin and, chili powder. It turned out very good, I also cooked the rice, and added boullion to the water. i don't like the thought of just plain white rice. With those few changes, It brought this dish from alright to great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I was craving Red beans and rice so when I saw this recipe and decided to make it ! I didn't have much time... and didn't have any smoked sausage or turkey sausage... and since I had already decided to make tuna fish cakes I thought that I would try this recipe with it as a side. I am glad that I did! This was awesome.... I did tweak it a little bit but not that much.... I used 1 can green chiles and tomatoes instead of just diced.... I also added with the green pepper and onion saute some scallions and a splash of white wine; also when beans and sauce mixture was heating thru I threw some fresh cilantro on it... and when I prepared the rice I added a package of safron. MMM this was good pared with the tuna cakes or even would be delicious on its own with a pan of fresh baked cornbread! Good quick recipe Diane! Thanx for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very good! I followed the entire recipe except I used smoked turkey sausage and margarine for a more figure friendly meal. It was healthy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Utah, USA
Living In: Magna, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Very YUMMY!! I added chili powder, cumin, hot paprika & a garlic tex mex season we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanesmom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Not nearly enough beans and they don't get creamed. It works as a way to make plain sausage more interesting, but I wouldn't call it red beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a great and easy to make meal. I took the advice of others and did add some cajun spice and instead of diced tomatoes I used stewed tomatoes that I ran through my food processor. I also used brown rice instead of the white. Again great meal and easy recipe to make. Took me about 20 minutes, I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
this was simple and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rupert, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States