Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Super simple to make, and easy to customize; I like mine spicy so I used hot chili beans in place of the plain kidney beans and chili-ready tomatoes for diced tomatoes. I had basmati rice in my pantry, so served it over that, and it was amazing... if I hadn't already filled up on it at dinner (two servings, yum!) I'd be going for more now. I served this with creole seasoned shrimp, but it would have been fine as a stand-alone meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Really liked this recipe! Took advice from others and added some spice--1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp chile powder, and 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper. I also used red pepper instead of green. What I loved about this recipe was that it was so fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I felt there weren't enough beans compared to the sausage, the rice servings are skimpy, and it definitely needed some sort of flavor boost. I would throw some minced garlic in with the onion and pepper saute, and also add some Cajun or Creole seasoning for next time. Smoked sausage is great, but it doesn't provide enough flavor to carry the whole dish on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good! For my tweaks I cooked the rice in the broth from a can of French Onion Soup, reserving the onions to add into the dish later. I used the broth from the soup mixed with water to come up to the quantity needed to cook the rice. Also added some bannana peppers for a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Amazing and easy! I used Eckrich beef smoked sausage, two cans of beans (one red kidney and one pinto since that's what I had on hand) and instead of the tomatoes and bell pepper I used one can of mild Rotel. Added Chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic, and a dash of cumin. Wonderful! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was AWESOME! Here are the changes I made: 1) Used 1 T unsalted butter & 1 T evoo 2) Omitted onion & used whole bell pepper diced finely. 3) 3 cans of beans instead of 1 (next time I will try using a whole bag of dried beans which would be equivalent to 4 cans beans. It would stretch it & make it a more thrifty meal in general.) 4) added 8 oz can No Salt Added Tomato sauce 5) Used the "onion, celery, pepper" version of diced tomatoes. This was even better the 2nd day after mixing in the rice & letting it sit in the refrigerator overnight. Will definitely make again, thank you! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was so yummy! I ended up adding 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of chili powder! We ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was so delicious!! The best chili recipe I have ever tried. My husband added a little hot sauce and worchestershire sauce to add a little kick to it!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
For a short cut if you don't have 3 hours to spend cooking the traditional version, this version is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious with my modifications. I added a tablespoon of cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States