Red Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I felt there weren't enough beans compared to the sausage, the rice servings are skimpy, and it definitely needed some sort of flavor boost. I would throw some minced garlic in with the onion and pepper saute, and also add some Cajun or Creole seasoning for next time. Smoked sausage is great, but it doesn't provide enough flavor to carry the whole dish on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Good! For my tweaks I cooked the rice in the broth from a can of French Onion Soup, reserving the onions to add into the dish later. I used the broth from the soup mixed with water to come up to the quantity needed to cook the rice. Also added some bannana peppers for a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMISTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Amazing and easy! I used Eckrich beef smoked sausage, two cans of beans (one red kidney and one pinto since that's what I had on hand) and instead of the tomatoes and bell pepper I used one can of mild Rotel. Added Chili powder, cayenne pepper, garlic, and a dash of cumin. Wonderful! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was AWESOME! Here are the changes I made: 1) Used 1 T unsalted butter & 1 T evoo 2) Omitted onion & used whole bell pepper diced finely. 3) 3 cans of beans instead of 1 (next time I will try using a whole bag of dried beans which would be equivalent to 4 cans beans. It would stretch it & make it a more thrifty meal in general.) 4) added 8 oz can No Salt Added Tomato sauce 5) Used the "onion, celery, pepper" version of diced tomatoes. This was even better the 2nd day after mixing in the rice & letting it sit in the refrigerator overnight. Will definitely make again, thank you! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This was so yummy! I ended up adding 1 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of chili powder! We ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was so delicious!! The best chili recipe I have ever tried. My husband added a little hot sauce and worchestershire sauce to add a little kick to it!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
For a short cut if you don't have 3 hours to spend cooking the traditional version, this version is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOCKO758

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious with my modifications. I added a tablespoon of cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Quick easy and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Delicious, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States