Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by VIVNIDHI
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I had high hopes but this recipe disappointed. Needed more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe is pretty much identical to one from Anne Lindsay's Lighthearted Everyday Cooking.. I made a few changes to the recipe seen here- I used a 19oz can of white kidney beans because I prefer them to the red kind, used 1 cup chopped cabbage and 1 cup shredded carrot, feta cheese that was marinated in red peppers and olive oil, and I added a bit of sugar to the mix too as I thought the dressing was a little sharp. My best advice for this recipe: make it the day before!! I mixed all the ingredients together and chilled for 3 hours before eating, which definitely was not long enough, the flavours were all much too aggressive. I tried it again today and it was SO much better, everything blended together perfectly. This is a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I used yellow bell peppers and added a little spinach and the colors were BEAUTIFUL. I put in garlic and herb feta so I left the fresh garlic out. Definitely add more lemon juice and olive oil and let the salad sit for a while. I've tried this without cabbage (because I dislike it so much) and it still works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinydancer2426

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe for a mixed (vegetarian and no-vegetarian) crowd. With some crusty bread, it is a main course in itself, but it also goes well with any grilled meat. The feta and cabbage make it different than other bean salads. A great shortcut is to use prechopped coleslaw mix insted of chopping your own cabbage. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very good salad - I used red beans and half amount of feta to reduce calories and also fat free italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Absolutely fantastic! I have made this for my steak & potatoes husband and also for a backyard BBQ & it was a HUGE HIT both times! The only thing I did was used garbanzo beans, the tomato & basil feta and I also added a little balsamic vinegar. This is my new default potluck dish, especially in the summer. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clay Center, Kansas, USA
Living In: Coffeyville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I used two cans of beans and forgot the red pepper and it was still very good. My garlic clove was super potent so next time I think I'll use garlic powder instead. Very yummy and healthful. I also used the tomato basil feta as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was better the second day once the flavors had melded! My husband adores it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was really good! I used romaine instead of cabbage, and added fresh basil. Next time I'll add some cherry tomatoes, but it was a really nice filling salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe and very tastey. Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States