Red Bean Salad with Feta and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Not everyone will eat this, but I found it a great salad. Had to sub cilantro for parsley; pigeon peas for kidney beans; white onions for green. And tripled the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So my sister wound up with a $12 block of feta cheese (it's a long story) and we wanted to use it up before it went bad. A simple ingredient search and this popped up. And it was awesome. We served this at Thanksgiving and wound up doubling the recipe (made 4-5 times dressing, also.) I added just a bit of red vinegar because we were running short of lemon juice, and it tastes amazing. I even took some of my sister's feta (shhh!) so I can make it again once we're out of the leftovers. A nice light salad for whatever type of dinner! I will DEFINITELY make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I doubled the juice/oil and used garlic and herb feta. Delicious and healthy, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I had to modify based on what I had on hand (don't be mad!) but this was the perfect lunch. I used napa cabbage (which I have in abundance), orange bells (my fave!) and pinto beans. Also for the vinaigrette I had to use lime. BUT....it was delicious :) I think garbanzo beans would be delicious in this, perhaps with cilantro as some others have mentioned. This was a filling, satisfying lunch that did not make me drowsy at the end of my workday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNBUCHANAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. Good by itself, or added to a green salad or chef salad (with a little ranch dressing). Added 1 cup of corn kernels and 1/2 cup chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was a great salad. I only change I made was to use cilantro in place of parsley and it was much better the third day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This salad is very unusual but has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is THE best bean salad I've ever had and I eat a lot of beans, a lot of salads, and a lot of bean salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Love the fact you can make this salad up to 3 days ahead! I added the Feta just before serving though. Also, used 1 can Cannellini beans (white kidney beans) & 1 can garbanzo beans with the dark red kidney beans. Couldn't find fresh parsley & don't like the dried, so I left it out. Thought the dressing was too light, so tossed in a splash or two of bottle Garlic Italian dressing. Also, added a yellow bell pepper & used a red onion instead of green onions. Oh! Used Tomato basil crumbled feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States