Red Bean 'N' Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used this recipe as the basis for a modified version, based on what I had around. As written, I think the recipe would lack depth of flavor, and that the beans would detract from the main apple and sausage flavor. I didn't have any crushed tomatoes, so I used 6oz. of tomato paste, which I browned with 1 onion, 2 tsp. minced garlic, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, 1/2 tsp. ground mustard, 1/2 tsp. paprika, and 1/4 tsp. rubbed sage. I then deglazed with a cup of pinot noir, and then added the brown sugar, 2 whole chopped red peppers, 2 cups beef broth (I was out of chicken) and a cup of water. Then added the Italian sausage and apple, a bay leaf, and simmered until we were ready to eat (probably about two hours). I completely missed the cider vinegar as an ingredient, but I think the wine did the same thing by adding acidity. I omitted the beans, again because I didn't think they'd be the right flavor. We LOVED it - my husband, who normally doesn't like soup, liked it so much he told me to make sure to write down my modifications for future use! The sweet-spicy combo was fantastic, and very different from most soups. Don't omit the apple; it's what really makes this *different*, and not just a kind of tomato-pasta sauce. Thanks so much for the recipe inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe! Subtle flavors. Even better the next day. Used two medium Granny Smith apples, 3 heaping cups of kidney beans (cause we like them), crushed red pepper instead of black (my mistake), and also added a heaping cup of sliced carrots. Used homemade broth, so it wasn't too salty at all. Thanks so much for the great recipe, Tami!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was really good!! It had a light sweet and tangy flavor. I added extra peppers and some minced garlic while cooking the onions. I took the advice of another member and served it over brown rice. Excellent idea! I just made a little slurry of cornstarch and water, added it to the soup and let it reduce longer, until it became thick. We will sooo be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
All around good meal, the guys really enjoyed it. I increased the amount of sage for more of an earthy vibe. It was a nice break from all the spicy dishes we usually make. I threw all these ingredients into a crock pot and let everyone eat from it all weekend. Definitely a winter thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I thought this soup had a very pleasant taste with slight sweet-sour overtones. The chili-like consistency was nice. However, I agree that this was a bit salty. So I think I'd eliminate the seasoned salt and perhaps use only 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup water. I also only used 1 chopped apple in the soup and thought that 3 would have been too many. Instead of italian sausage I used mild roll sausage, so I used Italian Seasoning instead of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Added a little celery, and a dash of hot suace, and it turned out great. For leftovers, I'm going to boil it down a little more, add a touch of flour, and serve it over rice. I'd leave out the apples next time, as the flavor or consistency didn't seem to contribute to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was OK. It actually tasted better than I thought it would with the little bites I was taking her and there in the cooking process. I left out the apples as my middle daughter is allergic, but added more red and green peppers (a whole one of each) to make up for it. It was much thicker than soup, I served it on a plate with a side of corn bread. It got mixed reviews from the family, but the consensus was this is a "once in awhile" dish, nothing regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Truthfully, I chose the recipe because I had the majority of the ingreients sitting around my house already. However, this delicious soup was received very well by my family and I would reccommend it to just about anyone for a quick cold winter ngiht meal. I served it with cornbread muffins. The only drawback is that it is very salty. Choosing a low-sodium chicken broth or tomatoes with no salt added may help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States