Red BBQ Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I have never been able to make good bbq slaw but this recipe was husband approved! The ketchup was the secret. I tried before using tomatoes and this is much better. We are from NC and this is like they serve at our favorite bbq places. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Livengood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is the real deal! Red slaw was new to me when I married a Tarheel, but now I understand....you just can't have BBQ without it. Since we don't live in NC, we have to make it ourselves. I've tried a few recipes, but this is the keeper. I don't need to look any further. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Perfect, having left over BBQ tonight and needed slaw. For those not accustomed to Carolina BBQ we have a sweet and sour thing going. You use this slaw to top your pulled pork, one bite and you know your in heaven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Very good but hot. I will use half the pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Love it one of most asked for and favorite coleslaw recipes. Last year I went to Charlotte NC for my daughters graduation and that is where I first tried red slaw. It was love at first bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Being raised in NC I tend to be very picky when it comes to BBQ and slaw, and this was perfect. We add more hot sauce, but that is just our preference. Thanks for sharing this recipe, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Budge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Excellent! Didn't change a thing. Taste just like what I used to get back home in NC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This tastes like restaraunt style red slaw! My husband LOVES it. This could not be easier to make. Will never buy it from the store again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I haven't tried this yet, but I CANNOT WAIT to make it! I lived in NC for about 3 years, and the best slaw I ever had was at a Police Fundraiser in Greensboro. I had never heard of red slaw before, and it looked weird to me, but I love anything that has vinegar in it, so I had to try it. I was completely hooked! Went to the fundraiser for the pulled pork... got seconds of the slaw instead. This sounds amazing... and makes me miss NC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WibblyWobbly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a great vinegar based slaw! I did it exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Oberhoff Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunnellon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States