Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Oregon Snowbird
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
I made two batches. Both came out totally awesome! Used 1/2 cider and 1/2 white vinegar. Used a mix of peppers, about 1/3 hot to 2/3 sweet. Chopped them very very fine, by hand. Made one batch with Ball liquid pectin, the other with Certo. I believe I preferred the Certo ... the fruit did not float, and the jelly is more clear and sparkling. Water bathed for 5 minutes. Yielded 6 half-pints each batch. Will give half away for Christmas gifts, the rest for me and hubby. Seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2015
Beautiful and delicious! Made this exactly as posted! Great Christmas gift ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I entered this jelly at fair it win 1st place and best in show... I chopped 4 habaneras and 1 jalapeño I used seeds and all in my processor . Then let peppers it set on paper towel about 15 min .followed every thing else. Pepper where all though jar looked great ...a judge ask me for the jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
For me it was very vinegary. I used apple cider vinegar and must have made a mistake with the sugar because it never set. I poured it back in a pot, cooked it again with 3 extra cups sugar and 2 pouches liquid pectin and it has set really good now but still tastes too tart for me. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Van Asperen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I get requests for this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Mine tasted good, but the texture was quite sticky.... It maybe because I am at such a high altitude. Not bad though. We replaced the cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving & ate ours with turkey breast. Very tasty! Once it was heated, the texture softened, it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymissjamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
First time canning... Loved this! It made perfect Christmas gifts for my neighbors and friends. Cut back on the pectin if you want a less firm jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I just finished 5 batches perfectly, beautiful color with red and green specks throughout and every jar set up. The recipe makes 5 8oz jars with a little to pour into a bowl. I did this so I could see that it set up properly then just covered and placed in the fridge for myself. Here's what I did differently. I followed the ingredients pretty much exactly except that I used 3/4 cup of Jalapeno instead of 1/2 cup and left half the seeds and placenta in so I would have more heat. I used a 2 cup Kitchenaid chopper to mince the peppers. I brought the mixture to a rolling boil while still stirring for 1 minute following the directions on the pectin sheet for pepper relish (pretty close to pepper jelly). Removed from heat and added ONE packet of liquid pectin (also per Ball pectin direction sheet included in the box of 2 packets) returned to a full rolling boil for exactly one minute...set a timer. I then removed from heat and poured into sterilized jars and did a water bath for 5 mins. I did 5 batches, 25 8oz jars all sealed, beautiful amber color (did not add food coloring but you can) and ready to enjoy. I did turn them to evenly distribute the flecks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. I get rave reviews and it is easy to change the heat. I use about a cup of red pepper chopped in a food processor, if the juice separates, I don't add it but I also don't use paper towels to get the liquid out. I use about 5 large jalapeños, with the seeds of 2 of them. Comes out wonderful. I use 1 and a half packages of liquid pectin per batch, and have done a double batch this way with success. I also put the jars in a hot water bath for 5 minutes because I was having problems with the jars sealing properly. If doing a double batch, I extend the cooling time after removing from heat to about 10 minutes, not sure if that makes a difference or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Hamblen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made it last year and ppl raved so, I'm attempting it again this year. I found the recipe now having a year of canning experience under my belt. My advic - follow the directions inside the pectin box but, follow the other measurements of ingredients from the Allrecipes one AND WRITE DOWN WHAT YOU DID SO YOU CAN REPRODUCE IT IF IT WORKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States