Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
For those who have mentioned that your hands burned. Take a large bowl and put some ice in it, then put another bowl on top of the ice, pour in straight apple cider vinegar and put your hands in the vinegar until the burning subsides. Im allergic to them and that works very well. Its also what poison control will tell you to do for jalapeno burns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is a great recipe. Tastes good and nice presentation. I canned a lot of this jelly. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I doubled the Jalapenos and cut the pectin in half. My first batch set so well it was like dried caulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WLS967

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe is just the right amount of sweet and heat. I followed the ingredients exactly. The only thing I did differently was to put the peppers and vinegar in the food process and blend to a puree. The rest I followed exactly. By making the puree 1st, it suspended evenly through out the jelly for the perfect taste combination. Thank you Marbalet for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Absolutely to die for. Wonderful appetizer with cream cheese and crackers. I like to make it for gifts using the jalapenos from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Wow followed the recipe to the letter as I always do when canning. I loved it took it to a Christmas party served with cream cheese and crackers and people praised it. I did however wish it said what size jar I bought the smaller jelly jars so it made 12 jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
My daughter and I tried this recipe for the first time following recipe. But instead of measuring the peppers we used 6 jalapeño (reserving one for garnish) and one large red bell pepper. We only cleaned seeds and ribs from the bell pepper and one jalapeno pepper for garniah...but left the seeds and ribs in the other five jalapeños and minced in a food processor. Also since we were giving as gifts, after we filled the jars, we put jars in a water bath for ten minutes just to insure the seal. Also before putting on the lids, garnish each jar of jam with some diced jalapeño. The vinegar gives the jam a nice yellow and the green and red peppers make it very Christmasy. You dont taste the vinegar at all. Everyone who tried it loves it. Well except for my husband. We're still laughing heartily over the faces he made trying to get the cracker, cream cheese, and jam past his tongue. Our daughter had to give him the jug of milk to drink....really, unless you put the jam alone on your tongue, its not as hot as he portrayed it to be....he just likes plain old boring food. LOL. The seeds give it a nice after bite. Caution! When prepping the peppers for the food processor, wear two pairs of food prep gloves or your hands will be stinging for quite a while. Make sure you read the ounces on the liquid pectin pouch or you'll get too little or too much. Six ounces is perfect. Sets almost immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Love this recipe. Looks very colorful poured over cream cheese block. I do the same recipe with half of the apple cider and cut out 1 cup of sugar. Added blackberries (2 cups) and it turned out great. I also only used 3 oz of pectin so it wasn't too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Just had this on pork chops as well as fried green tomatoes. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States