Red and Green Christmas Jalapeno Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
For me it was very vinegary. I used apple cider vinegar and must have made a mistake with the sugar because it never set. I poured it back in a pot, cooked it again with 3 extra cups sugar and 2 pouches liquid pectin and it has set really good now but still tastes too tart for me. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Van Asperen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I get requests for this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Mine tasted good, but the texture was quite sticky.... It maybe because I am at such a high altitude. Not bad though. We replaced the cranberry sauce at Thanksgiving & ate ours with turkey breast. Very tasty! Once it was heated, the texture softened, it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
First time canning... Loved this! It made perfect Christmas gifts for my neighbors and friends. Cut back on the pectin if you want a less firm jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I just finished 5 batches perfectly, beautiful color with red and green specks throughout and every jar set up. The recipe makes 5 8oz jars with a little to pour into a bowl. I did this so I could see that it set up properly then just covered and placed in the fridge for myself. Here's what I did differently. I followed the ingredients pretty much exactly except that I used 3/4 cup of Jalapeno instead of 1/2 cup and left half the seeds and placenta in so I would have more heat. I used a 2 cup Kitchenaid chopper to mince the peppers. I brought the mixture to a rolling boil while still stirring for 1 minute following the directions on the pectin sheet for pepper relish (pretty close to pepper jelly). Removed from heat and added ONE packet of liquid pectin (also per Ball pectin direction sheet included in the box of 2 packets) returned to a full rolling boil for exactly one minute...set a timer. I then removed from heat and poured into sterilized jars and did a water bath for 5 mins. I did 5 batches, 25 8oz jars all sealed, beautiful amber color (did not add food coloring but you can) and ready to enjoy. I did turn them to evenly distribute the flecks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. I get rave reviews and it is easy to change the heat. I use about a cup of red pepper chopped in a food processor, if the juice separates, I don't add it but I also don't use paper towels to get the liquid out. I use about 5 large jalapeños, with the seeds of 2 of them. Comes out wonderful. I use 1 and a half packages of liquid pectin per batch, and have done a double batch this way with success. I also put the jars in a hot water bath for 5 minutes because I was having problems with the jars sealing properly. If doing a double batch, I extend the cooling time after removing from heat to about 10 minutes, not sure if that makes a difference or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Hamblen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made it last year and ppl raved so, I'm attempting it again this year. I found the recipe now having a year of canning experience under my belt. My advic - follow the directions inside the pectin box but, follow the other measurements of ingredients from the Allrecipes one AND WRITE DOWN WHAT YOU DID SO YOU CAN REPRODUCE IT IF IT WORKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Nieminen
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is the best ever! I did not change anything. I am running out of the 12 jars I made. I use it on almost everything. Tastes amazing on pork, chicken and even beef. Don't let it just go on crackers and cream cheese ( or Brie, or Goat Cheese) Huge hit! Will definitely be making this MANY time and keeping in my book !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Nieminen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
It's so pretty! My first time canning anything and all my jars sealed! I love that "pop"! Admittedly, I haven't opened one of the jars yet, but a "finger-through-the-remnants-in-the-pan" test tasted great. I got 12 4-oz jars from this recipe. After reading the reviews and doing a lot of research online, I did the following: * Followed exact quantities per the recipe. Per one of the reviews, I had the peppers at room temperture. Not sure that helped with the disbursement of the peppers, but the peppers are suspended beautifully without having to do the flip tip mentioned in some reviews. Another tip I followed was to put the veins and seeds of a few of the jalepeno peppers (maybe 4) in a tea ball and put in the jelly while cooking. You get the heat but can easily remove the seeds and veins from the final product so your jelly looks beautiful. * After buying the wrong kind of pectin...TWICE...I finally found liquid pectin at my local grocery. Research online said not to substitute the power for the liquid. The jelly was setting up before I got all the jars filled. I'm in NC so didn't have to make any altitude adjustments. The liquid pectin kept the jelly crystal clear. I understand that powder pectin may have caused the jelly to be cloudy. * After filling all the jars, I processed them in a boiling water bath for 5 minutes. The jelly looks to have set in the cooled jars. The jelly is a beautiful clear amber color with red and green peppers suspended throughtout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made this several times and it's always a hit, even with people who don't like spicy food! There is just enough heat, it's not overkill. I've substituted the red peppers with green peppers or cubanelle peppers, whatever we have extra of from the garden. The finished product is always as beautiful as it is tasty. There have been times where the jelly sets with the peppers suspended perfectly, and times I've needed to invert several times every half hour to make sure they are dispersed evenly. I can't quite figure out why it does that, but it's an easy fix. For extra kick, add an extra jalapeno, or leave in all the jalapeno seeds and ribs. Oh, and use gloves when chopping the jalapenos. Just in case you rub your eye later in the day and haven't quite gotten all of the oil off of your hands after washing. Ouch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon's Mummy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheswick, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States