Rebecca's Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This had good flavor but be warned mine was not even close to being done in 1 hour and 15 min. Took at least 30 min more and had to add some beef broth as the liquid was absorbed before the rice was fully cooked. Nothing like messing with your main entree when your side needs another 30 min. to finish cooking. This caused me much grief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is very good if you love wild rice. As stated by Patti, it took mine about 1 1/2 hours to cook and I had to add more liquid to prevent it from becoming to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a delicious dish. I added walnuts instead of almonds and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Great ingredients! Wild Rice is always tricky when it comes to cooking times. You don't want it to be crunchy or like mush so it is best when it just "pops". There is nothing like this great grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Here's a tip for those who had trouble with the wild rice cooking. If you use "cracked" wild rice instead of whole wild rice, it will cook in about the same time as the brown rice. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylmar, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Just ok. The wild rice definitely takes a while to cook. Longer than the recipe indicates. I didn't feel it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a big hit! Changed it up by using chicken broth to cook it in the rice cooker & added red & orange peppers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I have now made this recipe 4 or 5 times. Every time it has been a huge hit!!! I recently visited friends in Florida and made it for a large group. There was not a bite left over! I did add a little extra broth because I like my rice a bit softer. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Loved this recipe! I used chicken broth instead of beef consomme and had to cook it at least 30 more minutes, adding more chicken broth but it was incredibly good! Fixed it for Thanksgiving and there was very little left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catmiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States