REALLY Real Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Wonderful! I saw this recipe, and thought--when I read about the freeze-dried strawberry powder--"GENIUS!" I made them for a BBQ this weekend, but only got 14 cupcakes. I think of my pan as being a standard-sized pan, and I use a scoop for portioning the batter. In any case, I loved these. I made a second batch of chocolate cupcakes (Extreme Chocolate Cake) to bring along with these. I used an Italian meringue buttercream with fresh strawberry puree for the frosting, which was delicious on both flavors. Oh: I used 1/3 cup of the sugar to help grind the strawberries in the food processor (a trick I use when making almond meal or other nut flours), and used the remaining sugar to cream with the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
These have been a very big hit with everyone I've given to taste test for me. The single most common statement everyone makes is "These really taste like Strawberries, REAL strawberries." And that is what I want to hear. The final test was making for DD Christine-NICU RN's birthday. I made the CC's and frosted with Real Strawberry Frosting. Then I stuffed strawberries with RSF and froze for about 30 minutes before topping the CC's. They were the hit of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by stacy66
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've been searching for a true, made from scratch strawberry cupcake for awhile that wasn't too wet from the fresh berries, and this recipe is amazingly perfect with great strawberry flavor! I was always curious about using Trader Joes freeze dried strawberries & this a nice application for them. Thank you for sharing your recipe - this will be my go-to strawberry cupcake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Want to make 18 cupcakes with a REAL strawberry taste? Here's your answer! I must tell you about my first attempt to make them! I emptied the package of freeze dried strawberries into my food processor and found to my dismay that there is a little freshness packet in there that says DO NOT EAT! So that got dumped! Second go at it was much more successful. If you do use a food processor, be sure to hold your hand over the top feeder because there is a lot of strawberry dust that needs to settle. I did make my own cake flour since Trader Joe's doesn't carry it and I was out (2 tablespoons cornstarch in a measuring cup and then fill with all purpose flour---sift several times before drawing out the 3/4 cup called for). The cupcakes took 18 minutes to bake. And while they were in the oven, I worked on the Real Strawberry Frosting---a total must for these cupcakes! And my verdict is YUM! Thanks so much for a great treat, Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
YUM! You can really taste the strawberry flavor! It's not that often that I get to play with my magic bullet. Watching the freeze dried strawberries turn to powder was fun. The recipe was really quick and easy to do. The hardest part was waiting for them to cool. Actually, they were warm when we had our first. (Hubby made me do it). I frosted them with "Real Strawberry Frosting" from this site which is another of Candice's prize recipes. I made no changes to the recipe. I got 18 cupcakes and they took 18 minutes to bake. Thank you Candice for sharing such a YUMMY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Loved it! I just used frozen strawberries instead and added a little bit more, I chopped them and added them to batter as they were still frozen. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I had such high hopes for this and it fell a little short. They were still good cupcakes and everyone ate them up but they did not have a strong strawberry flavor or even color as I hoped. The disappointing part was that they tasted like freeze dried strawberries -- there is an aftertaste with freeze dried strawberries and it just bugged me a little in these cupcakes. It wasn't pure strawberry. I made the frosting as well and felt that needed more - double - the strawberries. Alas I continue my mission for a true, clean strawberry cake taste. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
so moist. so delicious. flavorful and absolutely real strawberry flavor. i can see myself even adding a second bag of the freeze dried strawberries to the mix to REALLY saturate the strawberry flavor. one of the best cupcakes i have made in a long time -- and also the strawberry frosting linked to this recipe. what a decadent treat! would definitely recommend and will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Batter was too thick to pour. 8-10 minutes for mini cupcakes is not enough time 12-14 maybe. Mine were more like muffins. Wound up making a box mix to take to party at last minute :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this recipe for my 3-yr-olds birthday party and loved, loved, loved them! I ended up using more freeze dried strawberries than listed on the ingredients list and was worried the flavor would be too strong but I think they turned out great. (I frosted with cream cheese frosting). I have been dreaming about them since and am going to make my own strawberries tonight and see how that compares to the freeze dried berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States