Really Easy Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a great starting point but I spiced this recipe up a little. I added chopped onion and zucchini. Also, garlic and Italian seasoning and I filled the can of diced tomatoes with water and added that. If you like spice, I added some hot sauce and red pepper flake. I think adding more veggies makes it heartier and more filling. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This recipe truly was easy and very tasty! I took the advice of the others and added some garlic powder and instead of the celery I put in onions (I just don't personally care for cooked celery). I would make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe! I added zucchini, italian seasoning, garlic powder and a small can of hunts tomato sauce plus I used tilapia instead of cod and it was delicious. I liked that it was simple to make and healthy. I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
What's great about this recipe is that it gives you a real versatile base of a chowder. If you follow another reviewer's suggestion and add to a can of tomatos a can of water, and then a small can of tomato sauce, you have a perfect beginning of a soup. I add a dash of Sriracha hot Chili sause to give it a kick. I also omit the celery (personal preference) and add sauteed chopped onion. Then add whatever vegetables you have on hand. So far I have made it with califlower and beans (which results in a summery take on a chowder) and with zuchinni and squash. I imagine it'll do well with potatoes and other wintry vegetables, so I am planning on making it again and again. And the best thing is that it is SO fast to make - the only time you spend on this is opening the cans and chopping up the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
yummy, cozy and extremely quick and easy. I didn't have time to go out and buy celery, so I substituted with a few boiled potatoes, and then mashed the whole thing up with a wandmixer thing, and it turned out hearty and thick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This gets five stars for simplicity, healthiness, and the ability to customize (great soup for losing weight, yet still getting healthy fat and protien). I added dry red wine, canned clams and oysters, and onions and garlic sauteed in a bit of oil. I also think potatoes could go well. Once, I also used a bit of old bay with a touch of celery seed because I didn't have celery on hand. Thanks for such an easy, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This lacked something! I added a can of tomato soup, a can of water, 1/2 lb shrimp and 4 healthy shots of Tabasco sauce. Helped quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Very quick and good! I added a little garlic salt and a few dashes of hot sauce. I also used Pollack fillets instead of Cod only because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe was just a good idea. I also sauteed onion, celery and garlic in olive oil with a little salt, pepper, and old bay. Seasoned in layers and threw in a few red pepper flakes towared the end an was perfect with flounder instead of cod. Next time, I may deglaze with a little white wine before adding the tomatoes or throw in a bay leaf or something. It's kind of funny that people complained it was bland with a last name like McCormick! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheldyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Easy and delicious. I sauteed an onion and the celery with a little garlic in olive oil first - then added the staple ingredients. Served with crusty warm bread - wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States