Really Easy Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I have been meaning to write a review for this for a couple of years...it's a *great* recipe! I love to cook, so if something is good, it's good. I use Goya Adobo for the seasoning, and also sauteed the onions in butter before adding it to the bread. I make it everytime I have a holiday, and even during the year. There has never been a bit left, and I have made it at least a dozen times already. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This is almost my mothers stuffing recipe. Not hard to make and always a big hit. Being this simple you can make it year round as I do. Mom's has chopped celery in it and you saute the celery and onion in about 1/4 to 1/2 lb. of butter or margarine. Don't use the water, use all the melted butter for moisture. Add one peeled chopped apple for an interesting Thanksgiving flavor and a little more moisture. The secret to this recipe or my variations is the poultry seasoning though. It's mostly sage but the real thing isn't hard to find. True Katie, can be made with soft or dried bread cubes. I've made it both ways. Add more water (or butter) for dried cubes but I still like the soft bread the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
this was okay - it needed to be dressed up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
VERY good stuffing and the fact that its sooo easy to make gets an A+ from me!! I took "JUSTCYN's" advice and sauted the onion and some celery in butter and used that primarily for the moisture. However, since I was using dried/stale bread, I also used 1/4c chicken broth. Cooked in covered foil and it turned out good! Great recipe Katie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
Added celery and sauted onion in butter per others suggestion. This was spicy, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Delicious! Like every one else I pumped up the calories by browning onions and celery in butter and using chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was good, but a bit dry. I cooked at 350 in a casserole dish, covered for an hour. I followed the suggestion to add sauted onions and celery and use the butter for moisture. Next time I will add 1/3 c water as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was very simple to make and quite good. Since I don't like onions, I didn't add them, but I still added about a stick of melted butter and some chicken broth for moisture instead of water. I served it with beef cubes and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I found this quite good. I used brown bread, and sauteed onion and celery in butter as the previous poster suggested. I also eliminated the water and added a chopped apple. I used soft bread but put it all together the day before and left the cover slightly loose on the bowl in the fridge overnight. Stuffed it in the turkey the next morning. Very easy and very good! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i found a recipe just like this once, only it called for forming the stuffing into round balls and frying them in a pan instead of baking - some cooked bacon might be good to add
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States