Really Easy Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
By the time I was done with this recipe there wasn't one ingredient I didn't change. I used dinner rolls instead of bread for a sweeter flavour. Sauteed onions and garlic in a good amount of butter. Dropped the water altogether. Added chopped frozen cranberries. Spices...sage, celery salt, a bit of cinnamon, a bit of curry powder, dash of rosemary, tiny amount of bay leaves. The result is a sweeter than spicy combination but with a touch of both. At the very least, I say use the butter instead of the water and cook the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This just didn't do it for me. It was very dry even with extra broth. Not sure what I did wrong. I'll stick to stove top until I find the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
it was easy, but not enough flavor for me. Also, the recipe does not say what temp to bake it on...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRG2006

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is close to mine . I saute my onions , use fresh bread & lots of sage (no celery ,one child won't touch it!)definately (warm) broth instead of water AND I use 2 eggs for the first loaf ,& add 1 egg/each additional loaf of bread . I use lots of broth & cover the pan til nearly done since my family prefers a very moist dressing . This year for the first time in 30 yrs. I plan to change it by adding chopped apple ...as long as no one tells them , lol !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I was really nervous about making stuffing from scratch...I was convinced I would somehow mess it up and ruin my first thanksgiving meal. Luckily I found this recipe and it turned out amazing! Next year I'll try adding some fun stuff for some variation but it's great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This stuffing didn't live 5 minutes in our family of 3! I made it to go with a pork roast. I followed suggestions and sauteed celery and onion in 1/4 c. butter and tossed that with the bread to moisten, instead of water. I also added an entire apple, peeled, cored and sliced. I baked it in a casserole dish for an hour and it was a perfect complement to the pork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I love this recipe! As is, it's perfectly moist and very tasty. And it's so versatile you can add anything to it and it's still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky C

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is a good base for easy stuffing. I made the following changes and the stuffing came out great! I used one onion, 2 celery stalks & 8 oz. mushrooms sauteed in 1 stick of butter. One chopped, peeled apple and 1 cup chicken broth. 1 tsp. poultry seasoning. Baked covered @ 350 for one hour. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This is a good base recipe that can be made into whatever you please. I used chicken broth instead of water, added some celery and garlic, and used pumpernickle bread with white bread. It turned out really well with the changes, but I think it would have been a little bland without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a good basic and versatile recipe. I added sliced mushrooms, and some very finely chopped walnuts and celery. If I were to make it again, I would probably use chicken broth instead of water for extra flavor. Thanks, Katie! And a belated Merry Christmas to the Allrecipes crew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States