Really Easy Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This is almost my mothers stuffing recipe. Not hard to make and always a big hit. Being this simple you can make it year round as I do. Mom's has chopped celery in it and you saute the celery and onion in about 1/4 to 1/2 lb. of butter or margarine. Don't use the water, use all the melted butter for moisture. Add one peeled chopped apple for an interesting Thanksgiving flavor and a little more moisture. The secret to this recipe or my variations is the poultry seasoning though. It's mostly sage but the real thing isn't hard to find. True Katie, can be made with soft or dried bread cubes. I've made it both ways. Add more water (or butter) for dried cubes but I still like the soft bread the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I have been meaning to write a review for this for a couple of years...it's a *great* recipe! I love to cook, so if something is good, it's good. I use Goya Adobo for the seasoning, and also sauteed the onions in butter before adding it to the bread. I make it everytime I have a holiday, and even during the year. There has never been a bit left, and I have made it at least a dozen times already. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
VERY good stuffing and the fact that its sooo easy to make gets an A+ from me!! I took "JUSTCYN's" advice and sauted the onion and some celery in butter and used that primarily for the moisture. However, since I was using dried/stale bread, I also used 1/4c chicken broth. Cooked in covered foil and it turned out good! Great recipe Katie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is a good base for easy stuffing. I made the following changes and the stuffing came out great! I used one onion, 2 celery stalks & 8 oz. mushrooms sauteed in 1 stick of butter. One chopped, peeled apple and 1 cup chicken broth. 1 tsp. poultry seasoning. Baked covered @ 350 for one hour. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was quite bland for our taste. I do think by adding a little ground Savory and using chicken broth in place of just water would add a lot to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I found this quite good. I used brown bread, and sauteed onion and celery in butter as the previous poster suggested. I also eliminated the water and added a chopped apple. I used soft bread but put it all together the day before and left the cover slightly loose on the bowl in the fridge overnight. Stuffed it in the turkey the next morning. Very easy and very good! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Our kitchen isn't very "cooking-friendly" but I tried this anyway because I missed my grandmom's stuffing after moving to London. It is SO close to hers I just had to say THANK YOU for this! It's a taste of home that I can aquire MANY miles away! And I haven't even tried it with the celery suggestion yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This stuffing didn't live 5 minutes in our family of 3! I made it to go with a pork roast. I followed suggestions and sauteed celery and onion in 1/4 c. butter and tossed that with the bread to moisten, instead of water. I also added an entire apple, peeled, cored and sliced. I baked it in a casserole dish for an hour and it was a perfect complement to the pork. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I love this recipe! As is, it's perfectly moist and very tasty. And it's so versatile you can add anything to it and it's still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky C

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was good, but a bit dry. I cooked at 350 in a casserole dish, covered for an hour. I followed the suggestion to add sauted onions and celery and use the butter for moisture. Next time I will add 1/3 c water as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States