Really Easy Bread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I have made this stuffing for over 45 years and we love it except I add fresh celery and some butter or margarine whatever I have on hand so it isn't dry, sometimes I use chicken broth if I have it I stuff my turkey or chicken with it plus I make pans full on the side once nice and brown you can either cover it so it doesn't get hard or cover it first than brown at the end you can also bake pork chops in oven with this stuffing on top or if thick enough chops put inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Definitely white bread is best not hard but definitely a few days old. The only addition I would make is to add about 4 beef or pork sausages - casings removed and chopped up small this ensures moisture is retained and definitely do not add celery or apples. This is definitely a very very old recipe - I am 75 and my mom made this every year of her life and the recipe was passed to her from her mom - believe it came from Scotland. Salt, pepper, onion and sage are the only spices - absolutely delicious in or out of the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Very Bland....why would you use water when broth adds so much flavor...my version is very simple and fast and everyone asks for the recipe. To start off I always add chopped celery and onion all around my Turkey in the roasting pan before roasting. This adds wonderful flavor to the broth the turkey makes. So I break up plain white bread in a big bowl sprinkling in sage, salt & pepper alternately while tossing with my hands. This can be made ahead of time and set aside ready to add your turkey broth with the celery and onions. I'm not one for measuring so I just pour and mix a little at a time until it is as moist or as dry as you like it. Then pour into a buttered baking dish and cover with aluminum foil for about 30 to 35 mins. (it will puff up under the foil). Then remove foil and brown to your liking. For an easy dressing when you're not having turkey just add sautéed onion & celery to canned or boxed chicken broth. note: I always add hot broth to the torn up bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I sauteed onions, mushrooms and celery in a half stick of butter. I also used dried homemade bread cubes, so added a cup of chicken stock. Easy and VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Matheny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I have tried this and it was too bland so I used half a bag of Stouffer herb cubed bread and a half of a loaf of bread. I sauté the onion and celery in butter to soften. Instead of using water I heat up chicken broth and add it until the stuffing is softened. I also use salt, pepper, and ground sage. I do stuff my bird and it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Being English, I have to say you MUST have sage in stuffing, the classic English stuffing is sage and onion. Also, my Mum used to also make Parsley and Thyme stuffing with stale bread for Xmas, and it was yummy. The neck would be stuffed with one and the cavity with the other. Makes fab cold cuts for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Lawrence
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
A good "basic" stuffing recipe. I use 1/2 white bread and 1/2 cornbread and moisten with chicken broth rather than water. I also add a couple stalks of chopped celery and toss in a minced hard-boiled egg or two. Since I love sage stuffing, I toss in 1/4 tsp. sage and double the amount of poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I added celery and onions and poultry seasoning with chicken stock not water favors better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly J Cody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was my mother's recipe, with the addition of celery sauted in butter along with the onion. I have used this recipe myself for 30 years. I also add dry chicken broth powder, such as Orrington Farms, to mine for more flavor. You must make sure to use enough water. I usually add some liquid chicken broth as well. And I only use fresh bakery bread from the supermarket. For Thanksgiving dinner, I always stuff the turkey, and put the rest of the stuffing in a crockpot. I just add a little more liquid because it will not have the juices from the turkey for moisture. My family loves, loves, loves my dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etrenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States