Real Wisconsin Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made half a batch of these for my boyfriend (born & raised in WI!) and he loved them! It was my first "Fried Cheese Curd" experience, but they were fantastic and I would definitely make them again. One trick I read elsewhere - let the curds get to room temperature & they will sweat a little... use the moisture to your advantage and coat them with a little flour before battering. It makes the batter stick a lot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Canola oil over heats compared to other oils (I have made the same mistake in the past with other recipes). So, reduce the heat...might help. Or use the recommended oil. Second, when using wet batters it is best to lower them into the hot oil with a metal slotted spoon vice putting them in the basket then lowering in...helps prevent sticking. Hope this helps...cause these are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I tried fried cheese curds like a month ago for the first time at a local fair in Florida. I love cheese n have tried cheese curds but not fried omg I'm in haven with this recipe it turned out perfect. I ordered cheese curds from Wisconsin :-) paid more for the shipping than the actual cheese but it was worth it. The curds came out perfectly nothing sticked to the pan just Perfect. Flavorful way better than the one at the fair. Thank u for this awesome quick recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Are you kidding me??? These we SOOOOOOO good--just like at the fair. The trick is to find cheese curds--not so easy in my area. Not so healthy, but when something tastes this good, who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We love cheese here in Wisconsin and cheese curds, especially. I am on a low-carb diet and am missing my snacks, but this recipe saved the day - these are the REAL DEAL, YUM!! To go low carb, I substituted canola oil for vegetable and coconut flour for all-purpose flour and they still tasted great. Thanks, Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made these using a ranch dill white cheddar curd. My family, living in SE MN and growing up on cheese curds, decided these were the best curds they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
As a WI dairy farming family, we had to try this. It was terrific! The taste was everything we had hoped for. We used fresh Mullins Cheese Curds. We laid them out flat on a cookie sheet in the freezer for a few minutes before dipping them in batter. This keeps the cheese from puddling in the hot deep fryer. I also topped them with another sprinkle of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I'm form Wisconsin and just have to say these are great!! Very close to the curds at the fair, I just added a little extra salt but I am a salt lover...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
As a born and bred Minnesotan now living in Los Angeles, I was truly depressed to miss the State Fair (for the first time ever!) this year. I knew what I had to do -- replicate those little golden nuggets of goodness. And this recipe is AMAZING. I feel like I just left the Mouth Trap in the Food Barn. BUT it's very important to a) let the curds sit until room temperature and sweating and b) coat the cheese in flour before dipping in the batter. Don't be shy about coating them, it makes the batter stick when in oil. I also used twice the amount of salt because...hey, it's the fair. Now, if I could only figure out how to replicate Sweet Martha's cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fanxyfox5000
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Cheese fan here, went to a Gouda factory (Oakdale Cheese in California) to get my curds. I did not let my curds sit out, they stayed cool until ready to dip. I added garlic parsley salt to half of them after frying, and some season-all salt to the rest, this cured the bland flavor. I think I am going to season my batter just like I do with my other fried foods. A bit before and after adds so much flavor! Use your favorite seasoning and you can not go wrong with these cheesy delights! I could not figure out a faster way to fry them all separately, so so I plopped them into the fryer in groups. It still turned out good, a giant tear apart cheese ball! Oh and I used peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States