Real Wisconsin Fried Cheese Curds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made half a batch of these for my boyfriend (born & raised in WI!) and he loved them! It was my first "Fried Cheese Curd" experience, but they were fantastic and I would definitely make them again. One trick I read elsewhere - let the curds get to room temperature & they will sweat a little... use the moisture to your advantage and coat them with a little flour before battering. It makes the batter stick a lot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I hate giving this a bad review because I see the other good reviews and it makes me wonder if I did something wrong, but I followed the directions, and this was a train wreck. I used an indoor deep-fryer for frying. I had the cheese curds sitting out for a day before I used them, as others suggested, and coated them lightly with flour. I made the batter just as it is written and it looked like a thin pancake batter. I placed 6-8 of the battered cheese curds into the wire strainer that gets dipped into the grease and the curds immediately stuck to the bottom of the strainer. Those were ruined. Then I just plunked the battered curds directly into the oil, and that wasn't much better. The cheese almost immediately starts to ooze out of the coating and into my deep-fryer oil. It made a gigantic mess of my deep-fryer. After it was all said and done, maybe half of the curds I made actually retained their cheese (I did not over-cook them), and the ones that did retain their cheese weren't good. In fairness, I admit I used canola oil instead of corn oil because that was what was in my deep fryer. After attempting to make these, I will have to replace the oil because it got destroyed. A LOT of the batter came off the cheese curds while frying. Maybe I did something wrong, but I love cheese curds and I will not try out this recipe again unless someone can tall me what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Are you kidding me??? These we SOOOOOOO good--just like at the fair. The trick is to find cheese curds--not so easy in my area. Not so healthy, but when something tastes this good, who cares?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
like the batter a lot. Just the right tickness. Original recipe is very good as is, but if you would like more kick to it, following is a suggestion. 1 TSP of cayenne 1 TSP of black pepper 1 TBS of paprika 1 TBS of garlic powder Now this may seem like very spicy, but really it is not other than just a nice kick. It may be because the batter is only a thin coat and you dont pick up that much spices. Next time we will try with cajun spices. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We love cheese here in Wisconsin and cheese curds, especially. I am on a low-carb diet and am missing my snacks, but this recipe saved the day - these are the REAL DEAL, YUM!! To go low carb, I substituted canola oil for vegetable and coconut flour for all-purpose flour and they still tasted great. Thanks, Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
As a born and bred Minnesotan now living in Los Angeles, I was truly depressed to miss the State Fair (for the first time ever!) this year. I knew what I had to do -- replicate those little golden nuggets of goodness. And this recipe is AMAZING. I feel like I just left the Mouth Trap in the Food Barn. BUT it's very important to a) let the curds sit until room temperature and sweating and b) coat the cheese in flour before dipping in the batter. Don't be shy about coating them, it makes the batter stick when in oil. I also used twice the amount of salt because...hey, it's the fair. Now, if I could only figure out how to replicate Sweet Martha's cookies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
As a WI dairy farming family, we had to try this. It was terrific! The taste was everything we had hoped for. We used fresh Mullins Cheese Curds. We laid them out flat on a cookie sheet in the freezer for a few minutes before dipping them in batter. This keeps the cheese from puddling in the hot deep fryer. I also topped them with another sprinkle of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Not bad, but not the best cheesecurds we've had. We live in Wisconsin, so we know our cheese! The batter is just a little thicker than we like it to be, and it was pretty blah tasting. I think it would just need more seasoning the next time around, but definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Cheese sunk to the bottom and stuck to the pan. I tried it several different ways but they all sunk. Maybe I need a special fryer. I did use the batter for thick mushroom slices and they were very good. Very little batter stuck to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I made these using a ranch dill white cheddar curd. My family, living in SE MN and growing up on cheese curds, decided these were the best curds they have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Fried Mac and Cheese Balls

See how to turn mac ’n cheese into fun finger food!

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States