Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This recipe was wonderful!.. a true Texas Chili has no beans. This satisfied a more 'low-carb' option AND the Kids Loved it! I did add beer instead of the second can of Beef broth because I love a Beer flavor in the chili and some crushed red pepper for more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This is a really good chili recipe, especially if you're not a bean fan. We serve it with cheddar cheese, sour cream and corn chips. Even the kids like it. I omit the oregano, because I don't like it, and it turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Tasted great, but surprisingly left me with indigestion, even though there are no onions and it's not too spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Great tasting chili. I did add beans though. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
The family loved this! It's not like a regular chili full of the ground beef & veggies of course, so if you're up for somthing a little different than that- it was awesome! I will for sure make this again.I did add a can of tomatoes, and little celery while cooking the meat. There wasnt even left overs to try the next day, but I'm sure it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Did not care much for this. Does not taste like chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I was looking for a low carb recipe and followed the advise of the rave reviews but I found it to be just so so. I felt like I was eating beef stew without all the goodies. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great chili! I use either cubed steak cut into 1" squares or ground sirloin. I suppose "chili grind" meat would also be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I didn't know until I moved to Texas that 'real' chili didn't have beans! Very good recipe, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This was great! I'm lazy so didn't cut up a chuck roast but used stew meat instead. Our store cuts it up fairly small. Other than that i followed the recipe to the letter and served it with white rice. It has a wonderful spice without being overly hot. The meat simmered to extremely tender without falling apart. My husband and I loved it and he asked me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States