Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I have to agree with SHOOPDJ that the flavor comes close to Ike's Chili from Tulsa. I made it with ground beef, used lower sodium beef broth & the only thing I added was a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. We used it on our hot dogs and it made a great chili sauce! I will definitely try it with roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
My daughter won't eat any other kind of chili now! The last time I made it, I added a few sprinkles of ground mustard, and in the last 30 minutes or so I cut up a bunch of hot dogs and cooked them in the chili. Served with lots of shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Edit 9/27/08 - This recipe just placed 2nd out of 12 in our neighborhood chile cook off. This was the BEST chili I have ever had. Followed the recipe exactly. At the 90 min mark, I used a potatoe masher and with a slight twist, used it to break up the chucks of meat. Every spoonfull had meat in it. Cooked it early in the day, then turn off the heat for a few hours until dinner time. Flavors blended perfectly. The recipe as it is made enough for the family of 4 with a bowl left over. Next time will probally double it if leftovers are desired. If you've been searching for a chili recipe, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I must have done something wrong because this was a disaster! For the time and energy I am not going to attempt again. The sauce was thick, the meat was tough - not worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Not your traditional chili, but really good. It is very filling and great for a low carb style diet. I added a can of petite diced tomatoes and two fresh Jalapeno peppers. I served it with sour cream and grated cheese and my son said it really hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Love this chili. If I in a hurry, ground beef works great in place of the cubed beef. I also add 2 cans of black beans to make it go further. Wonderful served with tamales!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I have been making this dish for years and I follow the recipe exactly except for adding more chili powder (more like 5 tablespoons). I sometimes have to add more broth as well. It really does need to refrigerate overnight to blend the flavors. Great served with sour cream, grated cheese and lime wedges to squirt the juice over the dish to taste. If you really must have beans, serve them on the side. This chili is the real deal. My family begs me to make it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I moved from Texas to Ireland and can not get good chili. I was sooo happy to try this recipe. Now I can make all my favorite recipes like from home. This is the best since REAL chili does not have beans or tomatoes. Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I seared round steak on the BBQ and cut into strips. I sudstituted corn starch for flour. We served 8 and should have had a bit more. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This recipe was wonderful!.. a true Texas Chili has no beans. This satisfied a more 'low-carb' option AND the Kids Loved it! I did add beer instead of the second can of Beef broth because I love a Beer flavor in the chili and some crushed red pepper for more heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States