Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I've never had chili like this before (despite being a Texan). It had a great flavor, though, and was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This ended up being a good dinner because the meat was tender and the flavor was good. However, it is not the type of chili we are used to. We are not from Texas though!! Probably won't make Texas style chili again. I think we prefer a thicker chili that has onion, green chilies, tomatoes, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I'm just a simple Pennsylvania girl. I expected something called "texas chili" to have bold, rich flavor. Imagine my surprise when I tasted what had been simmering for 4 hours on my stove top and discovered pile of beef in a tasteless broth. I had to make some changes. I added an additional 3 tablespoons of chili powder, and 2 more teaspoons cumin. I added cayenne pepper, onion powder, a pinch of dried basil, and two bay leaves. I also added another can of beef broth. I let it simmer another hour, and then refrigerated overnight (the bay leaves went into the refrigerator with them). The next day, I simmered it another hour before eating. If I had it on hand, I would have added another can of broth. In the end, it was good. However, I'm surprised how much additional seasoning I needed to add to make it good. Trust me, this recipe is bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is the bomb. I cooked my roast in a pressure cooker with all the spices for about 1 1/2 hours. The roast just fell apart so no need to cut it up. Then I mixed the flour with a little water and then strained that into the chili to thicken it up. I didn't use the oregeno (didn't have any) and the olive oil. Next time I'm going to try to just make it with ground beef so we can have it over hot dogs. I can't stop eating the stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Hatcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very tasty and very simple. Please Please don't add the salt--make sure to keep tasting it because mine turned out way too salty-probably from the beef broth and extra salt I added according to the recipe--otherwise, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This was fabulous!!! I thought I was going to have plenty to freeze for another meal, but my husband ate it ALL! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
very flavorful. I made it in the crockpot. I would add some beans next time because I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
At Last! I have been searching for a receipe for Chili Gravy for Enchiladas. And this is perfect. Not to mention it's great all by itself. I grew up in South Texas and THIS is the stuff I've been missing for so long. It really is best after a night in the frige and PLEASE! Keep it real, don't add beans.Awesome receipe, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only thing I did differently was using top sirloin. It was horrible. Very bland. Will not make it again and cannot recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I'm not from Texas so don't know true Texas chili, but to me it had more of a stew consistency. It's so good though that I don't care what it's called! The only modifications I made were in the spices because we can't eat really spicy food. I only used 2T chili powder and 1 1/2t cumin. I also only added about 3/4t of salt. After the 90 minutes was up it seemed somewhat soupy and very greasy on top, so I ladled the liquid into a gravy strainer to get most of the grease out, and then added about 2T more flour mixed with some water. It thickened up nicely and was the perfect consistency for us. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States