Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
My first time making a chili that wasn't tomato based. I did add kidney beans at the request of others and was glad that I did. The chili was very filling and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is a true chili recipe. You can add dried chipotle, and some diced up seeded jalapenos for an added layer of flavor and heat, and some smoked paprika for more reddish color. But the flour as a thickening agent really help bind all the flavinoids, and ground cumin a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Have been making this chili for mumblemumble years and it's always a hit. My husband always took this on his hunting and fishing trips with his buddies so I've been asked for the recipe MANY times. Last time I made it with venison which was also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I found this recipes years ago in a magazine. Made it for years ,then lost recipe. We always loved it. I am so happy to find it again. It does need to set in fridge overnight . top with a little sour cream & cheese This is real chili. Try it ,I bet you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have tried this recipe as written and a second time with modifications. Roast is expensive, so I fried 3 lb. of 90% lean ground beef and left it undrained in lieu of the roast cubes and the olive oil. I used 3/4 tsp garlic powder instead of garlic cloves. I also added about 1 tsp of onion powder to further enhance the flavor of the meat. Before the last 30 minutes of simmering, I covered the mixture with American cheese slices, which melted nicely into the sauce. Because I am on a low carbohydrate diet, and in order to make the chili go farther, I add drained canned green beans (lower starch than kidney beans) to the leftover chili before warming it up. I will be making this recipe a lot. My compliments to the person who posted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I found this one of the best chili recipes yet. I like the TX style of chili with modifications. I have to have beans. I just like beans in my chili. I followed the recipe quite closely with the following modifications: 1) Substitute corn meal (masa) for flour 2) Add 1 diced green pepper 3) Add 2 medium white onions (diced and sauteed in olive oil prior to adding to the pot) 4) Add 1/3 to 1/2 cup fresh cilantro (finely chopped) 5) Add 1-6 oz can of tomato paste 6) Add 2 seeded jalapeno peppers (finely chopped) 7) (optional) Add 1/4+ tsp cayenne pepper to taste I also had to use about 30 oz of beef stock. I bought 2 boxes of College Inn brand, which comes in 16 oz boxes. But just to be clear, I tasted the chili prior to adding anything extra, and it was quite good just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My family loves this recipe...I dump all ingredients in the crockpot...reduce the anount of flour to 1T...serve it in a bowl topped with cheese a fried egg and avocado.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I wasn't crazy for this and neither was my husband. I tried it because I don't like chili with beans, however, I don't really know what to call this. It isn't thick like I imagine a chili should be but it's not thin like a soup….I even added more flour and some cornstarch to thicken it up. Just meat and gravy….sorry, not a winner for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I just made this today - it's cooling down to go into the fridge overnight for tomorrow's dinner. Hubby and I already had a little and it wasn't spicy enough for our taste buds. We added about 1 tsp of Tabasco sauce and it is now PERFECT!! I can't wait for tomorrow's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was an interesting experiment - I love chili, but I was skeptical about one with no beans, onions or even tomatoes. I made this almost exactly as written, except that my cans of broth were 14.5 oz. each, giving the recipe 1 oz. more broth in total. And instead of buying meat from the store I got a 3.01 lb. chuck roast from a local producer ("Wyoming Pure") - I figured the beef quality could shine here. While cooking, I stirred the pot every 20-30 minutes. It was tempting to not wait and to skip the "cool, cover and refrigerate" steps, but I only tasted the liquid once, and waited until the next day to reheat and enjoy the chili. Surprisingly, the spices actually made for a pretty decently spiced chili, and I think some of the melted fat from the meat added to the body of the sauce. I enjoyed this for 4 days, and consider the recipe a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States