Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I just made this today - it's cooling down to go into the fridge overnight for tomorrow's dinner. Hubby and I already had a little and it wasn't spicy enough for our taste buds. We added about 1 tsp of Tabasco sauce and it is now PERFECT!! I can't wait for tomorrow's dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was an interesting experiment - I love chili, but I was skeptical about one with no beans, onions or even tomatoes. I made this almost exactly as written, except that my cans of broth were 14.5 oz. each, giving the recipe 1 oz. more broth in total. And instead of buying meat from the store I got a 3.01 lb. chuck roast from a local producer ("Wyoming Pure") - I figured the beef quality could shine here. While cooking, I stirred the pot every 20-30 minutes. It was tempting to not wait and to skip the "cool, cover and refrigerate" steps, but I only tasted the liquid once, and waited until the next day to reheat and enjoy the chili. Surprisingly, the spices actually made for a pretty decently spiced chili, and I think some of the melted fat from the meat added to the body of the sauce. I enjoyed this for 4 days, and consider the recipe a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was the first chili I've ever made. It got rave reviews from everybody. The only chili recipe I'll ever use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This recipe was ok. I followed it exactly and it was more like a stew than a chili. It was also kind of bland, though I added extra chili powder, salt, and cumin. It was very soup like. To salvage it I added chili beans, tomatoes and onions. I also did what one reviewer suggested and used a potato masher to split up the meat. After the extra ingredients were added it was a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleR33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
MY HUSBAND ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS RECIPE. HE TAKES IT TO WORK AND SHARES WITH HIS COWORKERS. EVERYONE ENJOYS! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was an ok Chili. Perhaps I just like a more traditional one though. My husband did not like the cubed meat (I didn't mind though). I also really missed beans, I think that I would add them next time for more texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarterCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Perhaps I'm not used to chili without onions and tomatoes, but I'd have to make up a brand new name for this concoction. It's not like any chili I've had anywhere ... including Texas. I like the flavors, but it doesn't work as a stand alone dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was a good recipe. I made this as a request from my husband. He wanted a real chunky chili to have occasionally and he LOVED it. Now I made it with all the ingredients listed but I cooked it in my crockpot. After taste testing it I thought it could use some chili beans. It was good without them but I really wanted to add them and thought it was good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This chili has great flavor and perfect consistency. After following the recipe for the first time and loving it, I made a few changes for convenience and to suit my taste. I substitute "beef stew" cubes or "beef chop suey" cubes so I don't have to cut the meat myself. I add 2-3 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I also add chopped onion and bell pepper as well as a can of diced tomatoes for more variety. I made this recipe once with ground beef and it turned out well, but I did have to drain the fat after browning the meat. This is otherwise not necessary when using beef cubes. I have received many compliments from this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was very good and exactly what I wanted. The only thing I would do differently is add the salt at the end. It was a little too salty for my taste. I didn't have beef broth so I had to use a bouillon cube. That could have been the reason for the saltiness. Otherwise, great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States