Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Am I the only one to notice that the photo for this recipe shows beans in it? Thank goodness there are no beans in the ingredient list. A very tasty chili and after the leftovers were refrigerated for 4 days even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was a great recipe but I sauteed a cup of chopped yellow onion with 3 cloves crushed garlic in a seperate skillet and added it to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
The hubby is allergic to tomatoes and beans, so I was so happy to find this recipe and finally be able to make him real chili! We served with elbow macaroni and it was great. I would've liked maybe just a little more spice and a little more liquid, but that's easily adjustable. I also think it would be yummy with ground beef, so I think we will try that next time. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aforementionedthoughts

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
My first time making a chili that wasn't tomato based. I did add kidney beans at the request of others and was glad that I did. The chili was very filling and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is a true chili recipe. You can add dried chipotle, and some diced up seeded jalapenos for an added layer of flavor and heat, and some smoked paprika for more reddish color. But the flour as a thickening agent really help bind all the flavinoids, and ground cumin a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Have been making this chili for mumblemumble years and it's always a hit. My husband always took this on his hunting and fishing trips with his buddies so I've been asked for the recipe MANY times. Last time I made it with venison which was also excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I found this recipes years ago in a magazine. Made it for years ,then lost recipe. We always loved it. I am so happy to find it again. It does need to set in fridge overnight . top with a little sour cream & cheese This is real chili. Try it ,I bet you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have tried this recipe as written and a second time with modifications. Roast is expensive, so I fried 3 lb. of 90% lean ground beef and left it undrained in lieu of the roast cubes and the olive oil. I used 3/4 tsp garlic powder instead of garlic cloves. I also added about 1 tsp of onion powder to further enhance the flavor of the meat. Before the last 30 minutes of simmering, I covered the mixture with American cheese slices, which melted nicely into the sauce. Because I am on a low carbohydrate diet, and in order to make the chili go farther, I add drained canned green beans (lower starch than kidney beans) to the leftover chili before warming it up. I will be making this recipe a lot. My compliments to the person who posted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I found this one of the best chili recipes yet. I like the TX style of chili with modifications. I have to have beans. I just like beans in my chili. I followed the recipe quite closely with the following modifications: 1) Substitute corn meal (masa) for flour 2) Add 1 diced green pepper 3) Add 2 medium white onions (diced and sauteed in olive oil prior to adding to the pot) 4) Add 1/3 to 1/2 cup fresh cilantro (finely chopped) 5) Add 1-6 oz can of tomato paste 6) Add 2 seeded jalapeno peppers (finely chopped) 7) (optional) Add 1/4+ tsp cayenne pepper to taste I also had to use about 30 oz of beef stock. I bought 2 boxes of College Inn brand, which comes in 16 oz boxes. But just to be clear, I tasted the chili prior to adding anything extra, and it was quite good just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My family loves this recipe...I dump all ingredients in the crockpot...reduce the anount of flour to 1T...serve it in a bowl topped with cheese a fried egg and avocado.....yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States