Real Texas Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
with a few variations, this is by far my favorite chile recipe. i toss the chuck in the dry spice mixture (with masa flour instead of all purpose) before browning in the oil. i also add finely diced onion with the garlic. and i use almost double the chili powder (or add smoked hot paprika or cayenne). after eating this, the tomato and bean crowd almost always sees the light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe for Texas chili. I make it with ground chili meat and 5 tablespoons of chili powder and some chopped jalapenos. We like it spicy. If you serve it with beans, make sure it's pintos. I always make a pot of pintos, because my husband likes what I call chili beans. And I haven't seen anyone suggesting eating it with corn tortillas, that is the way we ate it in South Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I loved the texture but added some slices of hot dried sausage and a bit of scotch bonnet pepper for some added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Great chili!!! I added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice and cooked it in the crock pot on low for 4 hours. I also added a 1/2 cup onion to the beef while sautéing the beef. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
The meat was tender and tasty but more of a filling for tacos or a burrito, not a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is an excellent chili recipe, but I tend to use it as a guideline because I do like to add beans, tomato sauce, etc. Last winter I used to make a big pot of pintos every Monday for the week and ended up making this chili since I had the beans on hand. My family loved it and I plan on doing the same this upcoming winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Easy recipe to follow and the chili did taste almost exactly like Ike's!!! We grew up in Tulsa and have been looking for years to try and find a recipe to taste like Ike's. I added pinto beans to it and I served it with elbow macaroni, since I love Ike's 3-way chili, and shredded cheese. I had to add some extra chili powder, just like I do at Ike's, and it was delicious. My grandaddy always got onions on the side with his and next time I'll cut up an onion to eat with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Highland Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Am I the only one to notice that the photo for this recipe shows beans in it? Thank goodness there are no beans in the ingredient list. A very tasty chili and after the leftovers were refrigerated for 4 days even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was a great recipe but I sauteed a cup of chopped yellow onion with 3 cloves crushed garlic in a seperate skillet and added it to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
The hubby is allergic to tomatoes and beans, so I was so happy to find this recipe and finally be able to make him real chili! We served with elbow macaroni and it was great. I would've liked maybe just a little more spice and a little more liquid, but that's easily adjustable. I also think it would be yummy with ground beef, so I think we will try that next time. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aforementionedthoughts

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States