Real Strawberry Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I did exactly what the recipe said and adding heavy whipping cream makes it a little lighter. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlaina Elmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I really loved the idea of this frosting, but it just didn't come together for me. I followed the suggestion of others and strained the reduced puree a bit to remove the majority of the seeds. Other than than, I followed the recipe exactly. What I was left with was frosting that was FAR too thin and FAR too sweet. I couldn't bring myself to add more icing sugar to it, as it was already almost inedibly sweet. So, to thicken my only option was to add cornstarch. The cornstarch did the trick, but the frosting was still muuuuuch too sweet for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Boden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This frosting is so delicious. I frosted cupcakes from a recipe I found on another website, Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes. The cupcakes and the frosting were so good and they complimented each other perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
It has good potential but way to much butter as is. Next time I will increase strawberry purée to 1 1/2 C, cut the butter by half, add 2-3 more cups confectioners sugar and milk until I reach desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abigail Van de Bulk
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Yum. Finally a real strawberry buttercream that works! Love it, piped beautifully too... I did sieve the strawbs, not sure if it made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Van de Bulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Best recipe on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I've tried this with fresh strawberries as well as a frozen mixed berry combo I bought at Costco. They were both good but awfully sweet. I used about 1-1/2 cups of berries for a deeper flavor, hoping to let more berry flavor shine through instead of the sweet. I think next time I will reduce the sugar. Loved the idea of using berries! The color was absolutely awesome too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Corbyzgirl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Perfect! If you prefer, you can also substitute part of the butter with cream cheese. This was ok for decorating, but not perfect (and I don't know what I'm doing as far as cake decorating anyway), but I probably could've added more powdered sugar to fix it. Everyone's strawberries, puree and reduction will be slightly different as far as water content, so you'll have to use your own judgment at the end. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I just made this frosting on yesterday, and I loooved it! I read somewhere on here that some people thought the frosting was too grainy. Originally I thought the same thing, but I put my cupcakes in the fridge overnight, and the next day they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
Seemed too buttery to me. I was surprised to see the recipe called for a whole cup of butter. That seemed like a lot compared to other butter cream recipes I've made. And in the end it tasted too buttery. I had to add some milk and more sugar to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States